Which could be the average APR if HIVE also had linear curation rewards?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

coverleo.jpg


Hey! This is @eddiespino writing from my project! This is one of my first post on this community!

First I want to make a disclaimer. I am not a finance expert and what I'm about to write might show the lack of medication in my system hahaha. So don't take these calculations as facts, I invite you to make your own math and I'm sure you guys could do this better than me.

The other day I read the announcement by @LeoFinace where they told everyone that LEO curation rewards will be flat or linear from now on. A great step and a great decision IMO. I have read and heard @theycallmedan talking about this from some time and I believe it would be something very good if it was also implemented by HIVE and as I said on Twitter I'm happy that the LEO community is testing this.

Ok, let's do the math. I'm going to use my account as an example.


image.png


On this account I have 11,398.898 Hive Power


According to HiveStats a 100% vote is close to $0.12, taking in consideration the flat curation reward scheme for each vote the account could earn $0.05, with current prices that would be a little over 0.3 HIVE. If the account made 10 full votes a day it could earn 3 HIVE, maybe a little more. That would be a growth of 0.02% according to my bad math and messy calculations, please correct me if I'm wrong. And if I'm not mistaken this could convert into an APR of 7.3. I think it's not bad, because this would be almost guaranteed as long as the account makes all the votes available daily. To this we would add the 3% that is earned by having HIVE staked, so in total the APR would be just above 10%, 10.3% to be precise.

With these settings autovoters would be discouraged and late manual voters like @thecallmedan or @darthknight would earn more with their big votes. If this decision was up to me I would make it, but I would like to listen to more points of view.

Of course removing the curve curation rewards would take away the joy of manually finding a good post and earn more than 500% on because you voted before some whales. That has happened to me and it feels great.


What do you think?


I repeat, I'm not an expert. My calculations may be wrong. I would like to see a real expert making a calculation. Thank you for reading! Let me know your thoughts in the comments.


All Rewards of this post are going 100% to HivePower and powering up LEO too.

Image Source Edited with https://www.photopea.com/

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Currently, with a large HP, you will not achieve a large APR. It was tested by my friend.
Screenshot_20201006182708_Opera.jpg
My APR😉

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, it depends a lot on the timing of the votes and how "wiseley" you use them and also if you have good autovotes set up hehe.

I've seen that in HiveStats if you lower or increase your HP because of a delgation, power down/up the curation APR will change taking in consideration only what you have available. It's hard to explain but if I delegated to you 100 HP right now, you will see your APR go down. I think that right now https://hivetasks.com/ does a better job calculating that APR.

Congratulations @aliento! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.
You received more than 2500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

Hola aliento,

Gracias por destinar correctamente el 100% de las recompensas de está publicación a HP y ayudar al crecimiento de tu cuenta.

Thanks for allocating the 100% rewards of this publication to Hivepower.

Si no deseas recibir notificaciones, responde a este comentario con la palabra STOP.

If you don't want to be notified, answer this comment with the word `STOP`.