How Hotbit Exchange Stole My Pennies

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

The recent Hotbit hack has passed strangely unnoticed by the crypto-press. Even less noticed is the fact that Hotbit steals their clients' assets. However, it's exactly the shit that happens.

Not so long ago I made an article about how I got rich with FORTH airdrop for AMPL tokens I earned at Publish0x. Then I made another article about how to claim FORTH for those who were sending their AMPL to a crypto-exchange directly (Hotbit and Kucoin, in my case).

Then TA-DAMM!!! Hotbit exchange suddenly banned my account (it was before the hack).

pexelsjulissahelmuth3726314.jpg

Those jackasses didn't send me any warnings or notices, nothing. One day I routinely tried to log into my account and -- "Account banned", together with all the pennies I had on it, including the claimed FORTH airdrop.

"WTF?!", I asked Hotbit's support. The support replied:

Hotbit-CS (HOTBIT TRADE)
Apr 29, 2021, 12:44 GMT+8
Hello!
After screening of our risk control system, it is found that your account has FORTH asset that does not belong to you, which trigger our risk control system and your account is prohibited. We verify that you have traded it.
Please return 159.956132616171 FORTH (for us to deduct it )to your account and provide us with the TXID for verification after you returned it.
After receiving your TXID, the relevant colleague will deduct it for you and restore all account functions within 48 hours
Thank you for your cooperation!

What the fuck?! How come that "FORTH asset" doesn't belong to me? It was me who was earning and depositing APML tokens to my account for months. It was me who learned about the airdrop, it was me who claimed it and paid the transaction fees. Who it belongs to then and why??

A relevant Hotbit idiot explained it to me:

Hotbit (HOTBIT TRADE)
May 10, 2021, 19:42 GMT+8
Hello,
we have delisted AMPL for a long time, so we do not suport to this airdrop.
Please return 159.956132616171 FORTH (for us to deduct it )to your account and provide us with the TXID for verification after you returned it.
After receiving your TXID, the relevant colleague will deduct it for you and restore all account functions within 48 hours
Thank you for your cooperation!

Excellent! Holy shit... What this fucking "we do not support to this airdrop" bullshit actually means? I'd been depositing AMPL before it got de-listed and the transactions are still in the blockchain. I claimed the airdrop myself, paid the fees myself, the tokens arrived at my Hotbit account from an external address. What kind of Hotbit's "support" I need? Their royal permission to own my own assets?

Go fuck yourself then, dumbass morons!

Hereby I openly declare that Hotbit thieves are stealing their clients' assets!!!1 And they are trying to find any bullshit to "justify" it.

As far as I know, other people also got their Hotbit accounts banned after they claimed the airdrop. Also, I believe, that Hotbit bastards simply wanted to keep all the FORTH airdrop to themselves (that stake would worth tens if not hundreds of thousands USD even at today's dumped price), and got a bit surprised that some of their clients were not so dumb as Hotbit thought they were.

Anyway, I don't care about fucked hacked thieving scammy Hotbit idiots anymore.

Others should probably beware of...

Well, just beware!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta