Brave Browser: Its My Time for a Change

in LeoFinance2 months ago

Anju Julius Blog Images.png

It's been over four years since I started using the Brave browser. Brave was introduced to me by my crypto native friends primarily for earning BAT tokens. Fast forward to today, and it's become my default on all my devices, but the love story might be taking an unexpected turn.

Back in the day, Brave was my go-to not just for blocking ads but also for its cool feature of letting people tip me after reading my blog. That was a sweet bonus for a content creator like me. But lately, the whole "blockchain and money-making" narrative seems to have taken over the original charm.

Don't get me wrong; I still cherish the ad-free and chill experience Brave offers. So much so that it's become a staple across my devices. However, after almost six years, I'm contemplating a switch to the mainstream players like Chrome. Why? Well, it's not all sunshine and rainbows in Brave land.

One major hiccup is the compatibility issue with some sites. Take my Adobe Creative Cloud, for instance. Trying to open the "My Account" section feels like staring at a void – just a blank page. And it's not just Adobe; there are other sites where I have to fill out forms, and, surprise surprise, the forms don't play nice with Brave.

Then there's the recurring nightmare of losing all my browser profiles. I meticulously set up different profiles for different tasks, especially client works. I had everything bookmarked and organized until one fine day, Brave decided to wipe them all out. Recreating them wasn't a walk in the park, and it never felt the same again. Thought it might be a one-time glitch, but nope, it even messed up after recreating the profiles. And I'm tired of these accidents.

So, the hard decision is on the table – I might bid adieu to Brave. Are you a Brave user? Is it your ride-or-die browser? Or do you have a go-to that's been giving you less grief? I'm all ears (well, eyes, technically). Let's swap browser tales and see if there's a brighter, glitch-free cyber horizon out there.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I have encountered the odd site problem, but usually shutting off the Brave Shields makes it work again. By the way, do you know that the Brave team has just appeared in Hive? You can talk to @braveflash.

Thanks a lot! I just changed the shields settings and it worked for adobe profile!

I didn't know about braveflash on Hive either, that's cool!

Thanks for sharing :)

Hello! First, thanks for using Brave all these years. Second, I'm sorry you had to deal with these issues.

For the Adobe and Forms issue, desactivating Brave Shield on the webpage and refreshing the page is an efficient solution.
For the other issue, I can recommend you submit a report on the brave support desk: https://support.brave.com/hc/en-us/articles/360018228951-How-do-I-submit-a-bug-report#:~:text=The%20best%20way%20to%20do,Brave%20Team%20staff%20to%20see.&text=It's%20built%20to%20address%20many%20common%20questions%20and%20known%20issues.

Thanks, @pboulet, for sharing this with me.
Stay Brave,
Braveflash

It's so cool that you've an account here! I've disabled the shields now and the adobe account is working fine. My main issue with forms comes whenever I try to fill in application forms on government websites. So, I'll see if it works well in the future.

I hope the profile vanishing issue doesn't happen again.

If there's a way to solve the issues, I would like to stick with Brave.
Thanks for the quick response :)

The shields should be your main issue here I think. It blocks scripts in some sites and see them as ads. So I think if you can unblock the shields for the sites that are misbehaving, then maybe it will work again. I still use brave. Chrome has always slowed down my system and phone. For now, still using brave.

Yes, disabling the shields worked for adobe now. Thanks for your suggestions :)