My Yankee Candle Hustle 💵🕯️

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

img_0.7981776388021312.jpg

Some people speculate on the stock market.

Some people speculate on precious metals.

Some people speculate on cryptocurrency / digital assets.

I speculate on clearance Yankee Candles. We are not the same.😎

img_0.35670052754872167.jpgSource


     eBay is one of my side-grinds and, occasionally, the military exchanges will have scented candles and related products on clearance with DEEP discounts. You can say I'm a bit of a candle flipper.

    It doesn't matter if it's Yankee or Bath and Body Works. If I see the red tag at the PX, I got into hustle mode. My usual method is to scan UPCs or search for the product name, ascertain the median value across platforms as well as the demand and likelihood it will sell.

     Here's another thing to keep in mind. Even if the candles don't sell, they do make excellent gifts especially around the Holiday season.

Let's just say we gift a lot of candles.

    Over the years, I have fine tuned this art and generally can turn a reasonable profit. Every now and again I'll get my hands on a item that has high demand but was discontinued for whatever reason that I can sell for a premium.

   &nbspne example was a Bath and Body Works Black Currant Vanilla 4 oz Massage Oil. I scored about 6 or more of these for slightly under $5 a few years ago.

Ended up selling in the $30 range but look at the price now!

img_0.42318966148887266.jpg

    I'll give y'all a tip about this hustle. See these candles can be quite fragile and let's just saw that the United States Postal Service isn't the most careful.

Source

    So, make sure you package your candle with enough padding to withstand rough treatment. One time I was a little sparse with my cushioning and my buyer received a shattered mess which ate at my profit margin. Whether you are using bubble wrap, air bags, newspaper or packing peanuts, don't skimp! I learned that lesson the hard way.

Now, that we are on the topic of eBay

    Wasn't @haejin / @ranchorelaxo working on a project that was supposed to be a decentralized version? What ever happened to that because sounds right up my alley.



Hey, if they need candle man, let than know! I got what you need! 😅

Thanks for stopping by ✌️

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Wasn't @haejin / @ranchorelaxo working on a project that was supposed to be a decentralized version? What ever happened to that because sounds right up my alley.

That didn't work out.

I think @kaliju turned out to be a scammer.

Dang bro. I'd rather be getting taxed by crypto peeps than eBay. Forgot to mention their fees. Usually I still come out on top despite them.

Brilliant side hustle! I would be scooping up name brand candles at $5 if I could. My problem is getting my butt on ebay to list the stupid things - I know they would go for a lot! Good reward for little work.

For sure.I'm trying to get the wife involved with that side of the work. That way I can stay focused on other business ventures.