Crypto Epiphany?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

We had a friend ("D") and her kids around for lunch yesterday and she made a comment that I was particularly struck by.

By way of background, this person is a very experienced financial person, an economist by training, who serves on the boards of many listed public companies and was the Corporate Treasurer of a very large public company until recently.

She is as Establishment (professionally) and well connected as things go in Israel.

Anyway, for years I've been spruiking cryptocurrency to her, making economic arguments to appeal to her professional background. She never paid more than polite attention before and then changed the topic. I can be like a dog with a bone about my pet topics.

This time she said she'd been hearing about crypto everywhere and figured she needed to find out more and didn't know where to start.

So I gave my speil about the end of fiat money and corporate crypto adoption and said I'd send her some good links (I'm thinking LeoFinance). Suggestions welcome.


Today I heard that another friend ("R"), a marketing expert in big high tech companies, had also bought into crypto a week ago.

I've also been telling him about crypto for years and he has listened intently (he likes to hear alternative views).
I've sent him referral links. He even worked for a crypto company a couple of years ago, but didn't invest.

Nothing had moved him to act until now.


These people aren't taxi drivers, they are talented, experienced people close to the top of their fields in a nation that prides itself on high tech.

While these are just two anecdotal experiences in the last 24 hours, it seems that we are staring to see the early signs of the next stage in the crypto adoption curve.

We are moving beyond the techies, libertarians and high risk speculators into the very early mainstream.

It is also pretty significant that D, someone who is making the decisions at traditional (non tech) big corporates about how corporate treasury funds are deployed, is starting to investigate crypto. I told her about MicroStrategy and its recent conference with thousands of listed company CFOs.

I did a quick search on "Crypto Epiphany" looking for an image for this post and came across this interesting recent article in Forbes which is using the word epiphany in its religious context, but which provides further evidence of what I have talked about above - early mainstream adoption.

Interestingly for years I had been suggesting to D a radically new corporate strategy for the big listed company she was Corporate Treasurer for. I even wrote a detailed paper about it which I had circulated to many people (and got some good results) but had never had much traction with her.

She suddenly was interested in my strategy paper and wanted me to send it to her again to send to the new CEO of the company.

She made a comment which I consider to be a great compliment and the nicest thing she has ever said to me:

Maybe its just being in my 50s, but I've realised that your were right and I should have listened to you over all these years about your delusional ideas.

Source: GETTY

Please vote for my Hive witness. (KeyChain or HiveSigner)

Witness Vote using direct Hivesigner

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Ugh, the blank stares. I barely slept the first night after I started reading up on bitcoin. Unless you understand how severely broken money is; you'll never appreciate how crypto fixes it.

You are quite right. This is why I start my spiel about crypto with a short history of money and interest rates.

you were right

Those words... you were right. It's an amazing thing to hear. The time to buy is right BEFORE the Crypto-Epiphany. It's all rocketships after that.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, it was amazing to hear. A real validation.

I'm sure there will be plenty of ups and downs to come but I've been a very early adopter all my life and this will be the first time I've made real money out of it.

I still don't know anybody among my friends and family who is into crypto (except for one friend whom I introduced to Splinterlands two years ago). Other than that, they are all either neutral and/or ignorant towards the topic, or even hostile to a point, that they would throw away the keys should I dare to send them some cryptos for free.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Gee that's lonely!
They'll be clambering for your lifeboat when the fiat titanic sinks.

Hi, I want to issue a token for our neibourhood, you have experience with SUFB. Can you refer me to where should I start?

It’s very easy on Hive-Engine. 100 BEE I think to create a token.