My Step Towards Owning An NFT.

in LeoFinance2 years ago

When I first heard about NFTs, I didn’t get it, I was a tad bit confused if I may say. But as an ever inquisitive person I am, I asked questions and read about them and soon learned that they have been around for a few years but were beginning to pull massive attention. This is actually my second article on NFTs, so this is more like a sequel.
Anyways, they are non-fungible unique tokens; an NFT is a digital assets represented as art, music, game, videos etc.
Each NFT bears a code for identification and metadata that embeds its uniqueness on it.

C4D8A7B3-E434-41D6-B4AA-67AC5B5C62FC.jpeg
Image edited using Canva

I remember being in this IT class in January, the tutor wanted to help some persons in the class raise money to buy laptops to enable them utilize the lessons. At first I wondered how it was going to work. So she said she would organize an NFT class, bring in an expert to teach those who were interested how to mint NFTs and make money off them.
I thought it was a great idea to teach us about NFTs you know, I mean NFTs are a sensation and any Tech forward individual or digital enthusiast would definitely be interested in learning more about them.

Well, to own an NFT I could either mint them, go to the market place to buy them or participate in an airdrop. I know some friends who got free NFTs from crypto.com by participating in an airdrop they used to celebrate buying the naming rights of Staples Center to Crypto.com Arena.
NFTs are amazing tools that can be used as a way to preserve copyrights over a piece or pieces of digital art, as well as controlling their supply. It would be difficult for anyone to steal an NFT that isn’t theirs or rob anyone of royalties and collectors are certain that they are getting the original and unique Token.
Unfortunately they have been cases of fake NFTs.

C26FDA55-0E9E-4427-BC7D-1E9F558DE233.jpeg

Well, before placing a bid on an NFT or buying an NFT, it is important to first do a research to verify if it’s truly the authentic creators who are listing it, because literally anyone can lift an artwork and go list it on a market place.
It would be great if before NFTs are minted, they are put through a process of verification of the ownership authenticity, hopefully measures will be put in place but I don’t really perceive this to be a big hurdle to the growth of NFT.

The future of NFT is looking great. More and more brands and private individuals as well as movie industries are exploring the world of NFTs. Brands like Budweiser, Pepsi already have NFTs collections. The biggest move of all has to be the gaming digital aspect which happens to be driving quite the value and utilization of NFTs.
I just want to mention that I currently do not own an NFT but I hope to get one soon. Lol

28316A3D-6BD6-4512-BF42-9CE9AD28ACF7.webp

I hope you’re all having a great week. Thank you for reading. I’m loving this community as there’s a whole lot to learn from the incredible minds here.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

If you are lucky, you can get some good nfts via giveaways :) What's good too is that some nfts can now be staked and earn other tokens.

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

Hi @ifarmgirl I hope you're well. Yes, thank you, I’ve decided to pay attention for giveaways and airdrops.
Wow, I didn’t know about staking NFTs to earn other tokens. I’ll have to find out more about it.
Thank you so much for sharing. X

I am, thank you :) And yes, there are NFTs with staking capabilities and I have a few of them, although not here in Hive.

That’s cool 🤗
Where do you have them? If you don’t mind me asking.

They are in the SmartBCH protocol😊

I am a bit behind with the knowledge of NFTs, I too should wake up and try to buy some NFTs from a good artist, but the ones I like already cost an exaggeration

Lol. Hey there @stefano.massari I totally get you on some of the dope NFTs getting sold off but I promise you there are still other cool ones and more getting minted everyday. But at the end of the day, it’s hardly even about the look of the art. I hope you find your way around it soon.