Pay it forward

in LeoFinance15 days ago (edited)

image.png


Up until a couple of hours ago, I wasn't even sure I would be writing anything today, but then something happened to me and I found it heartwarming so I decided to share.

I was coming back to school so I asked my cousin to drop me off. On our way, we decided to branch a filling station and fill the tank to be on the safe side since the car's fuel gauge was misbehaving and we couldn't tell the actual amount of fuel in it. It was all smooth sailing and we got there and filled up the car. But then just as we were about to leave the worst possible thing happened. The car refused to start. We tried a couple of times to no avail before one of the attendants suggested it could be the battery was drained. It was an annoying situation as the battery didn't misbehave at home but in the middle of the filling station. The attendants helped us push the car away from the path and called for the mechanic in the station, but sadly he wasn't around. We were annoyed and quite frankly weren't exactly sure what to do other than wait.

Moments later a grey Toyota Camry parked in front of us. A man came out and asked us what the issue was. Apparently, he was also buying fuel and saw what happened so he decided to come and see if he could render assistance. With the amount of cars that had passed, I had already lost hope in terms of getting help from a stranger but he surprised me. As I was helping him unscrew his car battery as though he could read my mind and see my shock he went on

"You know why I am helping you?"

"Why?" I asked

"I am helping you because one day I was travelling somewhere and then my car stopped working on the road. I was stranded and I'd lost all hope when a young guy just came out from nowhere to ask me what was wrong. I told him, and lo and behold he brought me a battery from his car to help start mine. When I saw you people stranded I remembered how it felt that day and I couldn't leave you stranded."

His story made me smile because it sounded like one of those movies, but this was happening in real life. He helped us to start our car with his battery and we thanked him before going our separate ways, but his story stayed with me.

My entire outlook on the world recently was that everyone was focused on themselves only, but his act of kindness reminded me of something that was taught to me when I was little, and that was to always pay kindness forward. If everyone would always be kind to others and pay acts of kindness to everyone including strangers without expecting anything in return the world would definitely be a better place.

I remember when I joined hive and I received help from the terminal, and I was told by @thekittygirl and others that the best way to thank them was to pay it forward. This is why I am always so eager to help newbies out. But I realized it hasn't been that way in real life. But then as from today I will do better, that's for sure.

I you are looking for opportunities to reflect like this, you should definitely check out April inleo prompts.

THANKS FOR READING

image.png

Cover Image by Marc St from Unsplash

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

"Paying it forward" is good online or in real-life — or both! So glad that you remember that piece of advice and are following it! Thanks for the story from your personal life! 😊

yeah you're right. Thank you for all you do

!pimp


You must be killin' it out here!
@b0s just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thekittygirl.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Wow, that was one heck of an experience. It's a good thing it happened at the filling station then if not I was about complaining for you guys 🤣.

That man is a good person, I won't say it was really because of his experience because he could have also drove away because others also did the same to him too when he was stranded. I guess he just had to say something so you guys can feel a lot comfortable.

Indeed if more people can be kind then this world would be a better place 🥰.

hehe yeah you're right he is a good person, he could easily have passed by as well.

Indeed if more people can be kind then this world would be a better place 🥰.

Facts

!PIZZA

That's right 🥰

Good morning friend 🥰

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been manually curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks:
a community encouraging first-hand content, and each individual living their best life.

wow thanks a lot Kitty

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@b0s(1/5) tipped @hopestylist

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating your Leo power to @india-leo account? We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

This story sounded more like one in movies and I woudl be shocked if it were to happen to me. The truth is, there are people who still show kindness and we should also do the same because we don´t know when such would be done back to us. Nice story, b0s.

True. Thanks princess

This is why I am always so eager to help newbies out.

Ahah! Now it all adds up. You're always helpful, and I've always admired that. Good to know that you're paying the kindness you write shown, bro.

And as for the road situation, I imagine you telling someone else the exact same thing in the future. Who nose? 🐽 Maybe the chain of kindness is long...

Hehe, who knows. I definitely won't hesitate to help out if the need to arises.

Congratulations @b0s! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 24000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge