What exactly is a quality comment?

in LeoFinance7 months ago (edited)

image.png


Recently I have found myself participating in the ongoing hive Zealy Campaign that leofinance is hosting. One of the requirements in some tasks that require engagement is that you make a quality reply. It is quite subjective, but usually they give something like the comment has to be so and so words long and must relate to the content. Before I move on I must say I am in no way critiquing their methods, I am simply just stating what I observed on the Hive Blockchain and sharing my thoughts about it like I always do.

AmRc67RgYaWTamZtjiRVK9pxDgRdg2RtnXmG5dbeGuzK3WNfkBktwpfahjXgofN7JmiYvtMwpCEYq5gpJaUVVFNrBJdVGTpU4dgh5N2o7i9HeCQVUiAtBV5tCCFFT4M5GWvAVab7P6nEnDdBkVcYxvn3ztE1PhNv.webp

Recently, (especially on threads) I have found myself consciously or unconsciously extending my sentences when I reply to comments so that they can seem longer and count as "quality engagement" when being reviewed for the Zealy Campaign. After getting my replies rejected once for being too short I had to learn.

I have always been one to make sure that when I'm engaging in the comment section I do it well, so I was shocked to see my comments had been rejected for being too short. Since then I haven't made the mistake again. When I want to reply, I make sure to take the longest route possible, and it always gets approved. But then when I look through, I say to myself "what makes it more quality than the previous one?" I am yet to come up with an answer I'm satisfied with so I decided I might as well write a post on it.

AmRc67RgYaWTamZtjiRVK9pxDgRdg2RtnXmG5dbeGuzK3WNfkBktwpfahjXgofN7JmiYvtMwpCEYq5gpJaUVVFNrBJdVGTpU4dgh5N2o7i9HeCQVUiAtBV5tCCFFT4M5GWvAVab7P6nEnDdBkVcYxvn3ztE1PhNv.webp

I am not exactly sure when the trend of "A longer comment is a more detailed and nicer comment". It seems like something that has been here before I joined. A lot of people work with, and are still working with that mantra. Trust me I do love a nice long comment, but that is only when it tallies with what I have said. At times I see some long comments and they are just long, they have literally nothing to do with what the initial post said. And are just a bunch of sentences put together. I laugh a little and find something to reply to if necessary.

AmRc67RgYaWTamZtjiRVK9pxDgRdg2RtnXmG5dbeGuzK3WNfkBktwpfahjXgofN7JmiYvtMwpCEYq5gpJaUVVFNrBJdVGTpU4dgh5N2o7i9HeCQVUiAtBV5tCCFFT4M5GWvAVab7P6nEnDdBkVcYxvn3ztE1PhNv.webp

I found out that one of my pet peeves is when I get an unrelated comment on an article, or even worse a thread. I remember once I wrote about how I had a bad day on a thread and I got a reply "you must have enjoyed the day." I went to check, and yes the person is a native English speaker. It was f****ing thread. Just read it and understand it, if you don't, pass by.

Then it'd be criminal if I don't at least mention the one liner comment. "Nice post", "I learnt a lot from this" , and so on. I always ignore these comments, but they are annoying.

But the worst are unrelated replies that are long. It just feels like I wasted my time reading, and then I start thinking "what am I even to reply to this?"

Oh well, In the end it's all personal preferences and choices. I'd like to know what you think. What exactly is a quality reply to you?

For me a quality reply is one that's both engaging and also relates to what I've written. I don't care about length as long as it does.

THANKS FOR READING

AmRc67RgYaWTamZtjiRVK9pxDgRdg2RtnXmG5dbeGuzK3WNfkBktwpfahjXgofN7JmiYvtMwpCEYq5gpJaUVVFNrBJdVGTpU4dgh5N2o7i9HeCQVUiAtBV5tCCFFT4M5GWvAVab7P6nEnDdBkVcYxvn3ztE1PhNv.webp

Cover image by Voldymyr from Unsplash

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @b0s! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 19000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

I think if the comments is not related to the author's subject then it's useless because I make comments to connect with authors.
It's a short but meaningful comment but I can extend it by adding some more connected words which I am writing in the next line.
Before making a comment I need to understand the thoughts of an author. In case of a long comment without having a connection with the post gives me a feeling like s/he is a spammer and I go to check their profile to understand that is s/he doing the same thing with everyone.

So I extended my comment by giving more effort and I feel it's still connected to your post topic. isn't it?
See, I already made a comment and showed the example of what you mean in your post🤣.

This was the only reply and somehow I still missed it. Guess zealy is taking its toll. So sorry for late reply.

I like your approach towards commenting, it's the same thing I do as well. When I see unrelated comments the default is to ignore, and yes at times I do check their profile to at least have a better look at the person.

See, I already made a comment and showed the example of what you mean in your post

😂 😂 You sure did.

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@b0s(1/5) tipped @intishar