Google Drive or Microsoft Onedrive which one is better

in LeoFinance29 days ago

Currently, I'm using a Google One subscription to pay some money for the services. While doing so I was wondering if there are better alternatives than paying money to Google. I initially thought it would be better to find some free alternatives but then later thought that it was going to be a hassle then started using Google One itself because it was convenient and I was too lazy to move my files to some other services. It is also a painful activity to review the account and keep the storage space below 15 GB.

Source

I did try and achive that and now my file size is only around 14 GB but still I have thought that the space will keep increasing no matter what I do and it is better to get some additional storage instead of maintaining multiple Google accounts. Today I read an interesting article that compared Google Drive with Microsoft Onedrive. I started confusing myself to understand which one was better and if I should be going for Microsoft 365 instead of Google Drive. Microsoft does give a lot of better features compared to Google but there are pros and cons on both sides. Some of the key highlighted features that Microsoft gives are as follows:

  • Sharable links have password protection and also an expiry date
  • Personal Vault facility available on One drive for sensitive files
  • Advanced PDF editing features on One Drive.
  • Support for biometrics on Android devices
  • Photo editing tools available on One Drive.

This article can look like it is biased towards Microsoft Onedrive instead of Google Drive but it is true that Microsoft provides the above features and it is a balance where Google also provides some features that might be missing in Microsoft. But overall when I read reviews, I found out that Microsoft was a better choice for everyone compared to Google. I have parked this for some time by keeping it in my action items. I'm going to explore this again and see if I have to stop using Google One and start paying for Microsoft to get these features. It may not be a great idea to have both of these services. At least I'm not that rich yet and I don't have that severe use case either.

Source

Another point to be considered is that even though the above features are available on Microsoft Onedrive and can outrun Google Drive, one thought that came to my mind was to think and see if these features matter to me. I don't think I will be using all these exciting features that Microsoft has over Google Drive but someone keen on this might consider but I may not be interested in features that will not add any value to me personally.

From what I understood, storage alone is not the feature that we should be expecting these days. Storage can be provided by many such services and some offers can even be more attractive. The only thing that matters is the other features they can provide us and how useful those additional features are for us.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote @balaz as a Hive Witness

Vote @kanibot as a Hive Engine Witness



Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Now a days every person likes to take pictures and pictures are needed in terms of work, so it is a fact that we need such a device which has a lot of memory and does not fill up quickly. The memory of the mobile was full and then the damage was that all my data was removed and later it was not recovered so this is a good thing you have done.

I never knew there was anything called Microsoft one drive. I’ve only used Google drive and I think that’s actually better until I use the other

Legal licences for the Windows Operating System are associated with the @hotmail and @outlook emails. Automatically, enjoy One Driver and all your documents associated with your computer are stored in the cloud. When you need to format, you don't have to worry about losing any files. When the PC is connected to the internet, it automatically leaves your machine as it was before formatting... Very useful...

I use the benefits of both platforms, and Yahoo. But the bulk of the information I back up and share is available in my own space, my “Private Cloud” with Debian and Docker. The system disk is only 240Gb (SSD) and for now I have installed 4 HDD disks of 2Tb each and the capacity to install 2 more. The availability of my files is worldwide without having to pay for extra space.

That's good. I did not want to own hardware. That's why I wanted to use a cloud service provider.

Setup an old computer, learn how to install Linux, figure out how to install syncthing or immich, maybe even nextcloid. Profit.

control-alt-delete and deactivate OneDrive, and you will no longer get a pop-up window.

Haven't heard of these things. Let me explore.

I am in a dislike mode on both of them! I don't know where that shit was implemented! But I've been away from pc for a couple of years a couple of years ago and when I joined back onto the gaming life I noticed this onedrive stuff!

It's been annoying me with popups ever since!

Namaste 🙏 bro, I am using Microsoft one drive 5tb space provided by the company, it's very convenient for me. Google's 15GB free space is not enough 😊.

Wow lucky to have that. Wondering how your company is allowing you to use it for personal stuff.

I had a similar concern when I was deeply interested in photography. It's a great hobby, but it creates lots of files to manage. And it's worse when you shoot in RAW format, which produces huge file sizes. I'm more mindful about photography now. But, I have also decided to try to keep much of my storage as text files, which do not use much space.

In the end, you pick one file storage like you would pick a motorcycle. You need transportation and they all provide it, even if one has features that the other does not. Honda or Kawasaki? As long as it works, either is a good choice.

Personally, I am also trying the Google One trial for access to Gemini. I foresee some of the future features to be helpful in managing my information.

Yeah I haven't tried the AI features that comes with Google One subscription.

The biggest selling point for Google One is access to Gemini Pro. It matters to me for the larger context window and because I think it is the best for help with programming.

I haven't explored that yet.

Features alone should not be the thing we consider in a service, for me, I prefer google service than any other services provider, the reason for me is that, I trust google, they make all their services flexible.

Yeah that's one good reason but people are having so many alternatives these days.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 20.00% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating your Leo power to @india-leo account? We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @bala41288! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Though others might really have their preference but for me, I will really say I prefer the Google drive