You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travelling's not Cheap: The relative cost of driving or taking the ferry to Portugal

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Portugal's vulnerability atm is that it has only one land border, and that's with Spain! When I was at the Portuguese/Spanish border mid June, trying to travel back overland to UK, it was to have been closed until 1 July - but all other borders were to have opened on the 21st (land border with France and all visitors by air from Schengen countries).

I ended up crossing on 17 June with a 'transit document' after being turned back twice at a different crossing point. Just mentioning this as policy seemed to be subject to whimsical positioning and shifting goalposts.

Other than that, I think Portugal is a great place to be. Out in the Algarve hills, the coronadrama was very distant and the land provided deliciously :).

Sort:  

I'm just hoping the border is open, it is ATM at least, and once I get there I'm fully anticipating there to be very little Covid drama!

The pandemic definitely isn't a help, not a lot I can do!