A Piece Of My Art and A Piece Of Silver To Go With It

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

IMG_3311-011.jpg

Another Round of Silver and Art ..

Again, I’m diving back into my stack of silver and pulling another beauty from the pile. I also wanted to highlight this coin with a piece of art I created not long ago. The piece of art reminds me of Australia in someway so I chose it today to feature with the coin.


The Art ..

I say not too long ago, but I really created this digital painting almost 2 years ago in January 2019. Can’t believe how fast time flies. I called this digital painting 'Sundown Over Bloody Bay'.

USgKoryE83iwcPd8oMpjAo5KXjFJfa96tQCskUNXBHaiEXkfHkBQjxxpxL74hUPxoinJWXKMQvqQqoDLqoZQdu.png

I was utilizing, and still utilize from time to time, a program called Sketchbook. I was creating a series of digital paintings which I since stopped because of the time involved. They do take quite a while and there’s quite a big learning curve when using a software.

I gather my original inspiration for the piece from multiple trips we took to Jamaica when visiting an area called bloody bay. The sunsets in this area were quite dramatic and quite colorful. My wife and I would often walk down to the beach in the evening and watch the sunset just to catch the colors dancing off the water and reflecting on the sand and buildings. I really enjoy those trips especially because of those wonderful sunsets. Below is a photo I used for inspiration for the peace. As you can see the oranges, amber’s, browns, and even reds are quite beautiful. With the light so low to the horizon and the sun so brightly shining into the camera lens, almost every object other than the water or the sky was silhouetted against it.

0987687687687678.jpg

I was just learning how to use the program so it took me almost 6 hours to completely finish this painting to the point you see it now. The nice part about digital paintings and creations is that I can go back and touch it up once I learn new tricks. I may get back into playing with a few things I started, once the blah of winter sets in.


The Coin ..

IMG_3311.JPG

Today’s silver coin comes from the Perth Mint and was purchased through JM Bullion. I only bought one of these because I had quite a long list of other coins that I wanted to collect. Besides that, they would make a great stacking coin or investment coin. Maybe once I get all the coins I want in my collection I will go back and purchase a few additional ones.

The Obverse ..

IMG_3315.JPG

On the obverse of the coin is Queen Elizabeth the second. This particular bust design was created by Jodie Clark in 2015 for a Royal Mint England. I have her positioned as if she is enjoying the sunset in good old Australia. LOL. First I took the picture with her looking away and decided I better place the coin to the left side of painting so that she can see the sunset.

IMG_3316.JPG

I guess I didn’t notice before on other coins, this design has some beautiful details including jewelry, crown, and hair movement. Especially like the necklace and neckline. The outer edge of the coin has a really cool wavy design which doubles as one of the security features.

The Reverse ..

IMG_3312.JPG

On the reverse of the coin lies a bouncing Silver kangaroo… I mean a Red Kangaroo LOL. I guess the Red Kangaroo is one of the sub species that can be found in Australia. Something else interesting I learned about this coin is that this reverse side does not change each year like other coins in the collection. It stays the same year after year.

IMG_3317.JPG

Kangaroo sit at the center of the coin and has the same wavy design, like on the obverse, around the outside rim. Also there is some cool radiating lines like sunrays coming out from behind the kangaroo. One of the reasons that I picked displaying the scoring with the art piece that I did. I guess all days are bright when you have these in your collection!

Written on the outside of the coin is the year, weight, name of the coin and the fitness which is .9999 silver. That’s a seriously refine number!

The Edge ..

What can I say other than it is my favorite.. A Reeded Edge! Looks beautifully perfect. Nice and wide too so that I can stand her on edge.

IMG_3319.JPG

IMG_3318.JPG

I hope you enjoyed both the art and the silver. I don't know about you, but I could really use a nice glass of wine, beer, whisky.. whatever - And a good quality sunset! Maybe it's time to head back to Bloody Bay for more inspiration. hehe. Is that a Holiday calling my name?

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Hive text divider.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I never would have guessed that was a digital painting when I first looked at it. it was really close to a real image. Very nice. That coin is pretty cool too! I am still on the fence about spending my money on more silver or moving it into Splinterlands!

Stick with what you are comfortable with. The silver will be there after the crypto spike that's coming. lol. I know it's coming. $5 HIVE!!!! 😁

It sure feels like it given all the news that is popping today on the crypto front!

Kangaroos are standard for Australia! Gotta have one!!!
Stack on @bdmillergallery!

Amen to that! untitled.gif

Bloody Bay, there's got to be some story behind that naming of a plesant looking sunset upon a peaceful body of water in a country teaming of Kangaroos, marsupials and adorable Koalas.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!