Another Coin Out Of My Stack Of Commemorative Silver Schillings

in LeoFinance3 years ago

1-1625684471787.png

1965 .900 Silver Commemorative Austrian 50 Schilling ..

After a MUCH needed break from reality, a visit with family, and some rest and relaxation, I am back poking around the Hive platform. Man have I missed a lot of stuff in a few short days. I promise to catch up on what went down, within the next few weeks. I am sorry if I missed anyone's awesome posts while away.

I decided to revisit the Silver Schilling's lot.. These are commemorative silver coins with approximately 90% silver content. You may want to trend carefully and not purchase these types of coins as a stacking method, but rather for the fun of it. They still contain 90% silver and I find they also still command a price better than spot.. for now.

IMG_1282.JPG

Today I have another 50 schilling coin to show.. It contains .900 silver and was minted in 1965. The coin was minted in order to commemorate the 600th Anniversary of the Vienna University. the large 33.5mm, 20 gram coin boasts about 18 grams of silver content. Total mintage was roughly 2.2 million .. so not such a rare coin.

I call it the 'Sleepy King' .. Because when I first looked at it, I thought "Is this guy asleep with his mouth hanging open?" haha. Sort of looks like it to me! Other than the fact that Duke Rudolf IV (founder of the university) looks like he asleep on the reverse of this coin, I like the design. Big bulky, chunky style lettering and a simple bust in the center.

IMG_1410.JPG

On the obverse.. There is the text '50 SCHILLING', surrounded by, once more, 10 shields. The 10 shields design never gets old to me. It continues to be compelling enough to me that I want to retain my purchases of these coins, which I picked up well below spot price.

IMG_1411.JPG

Stamped into the edge of the coin .. Is the text "FÜNFZIG SCHILLING" or 50 Schilling. I mentioned previously that the stamped lettering on the otherwise smooth edge is cool.

IMG_1412.JPG

Hive text divider.png

Molly and the Coin ..

I tried to get a photo with both Molly and the coin, but it ended with nothing but a blur. She ran so fast in the opposite direction when she saw what was happening. I didn't want to make it an event where she felt I was mad at her, so I let it be. So instead, you get to look at a shot I took a while ago with her and a silver onza ...

1-1625686478614.png

Next Time Molly .. Next Time

Hive text divider.png

1-874587438765856456.png

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Hive text divider.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thanks for the support! 😁

I would have guessed the guy was asleep too. It certainly looks that way! Nice snag! The shields on the one side are pretty cool. I am still trying to save up to make that first purchase. If the price of BTC would go back up around $35k I might be able to swing it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sleepy Joe .. lol.

I would STRONGLY bet the price is going to go down here in a few weeks. The Grayscale Bitcoin Trust lock-up are set to strike on July 18th, so we may see some upward movement and then downward pressure. After say the 19th or 20th it may bounce back and start a nice bull run. I am looking to get into a few things come 7/18 to 7/20 ish. We'll see. BTC will get there. I know it. 😁

I hope so! I am looking forward to writing my post about the stuff I get.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Be ready to BUY cryptos come mid July!!! 😁 Buy those dips!

I've got some recurring buys already set up. Beyond that I don't think I have enough stuff in stables to buy anything :(

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sell the camper!!! 🤣

:) we still have like 5 trips booked this summer, plus whatever we do in the fall!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Beautiful old coins! They look like work of art, so much details and nice designs!

I still very much enjoy the coins and all their details. Something to do while investing in metals. 😊

Maybe Molly is tired of Austrian coins at this time, I suggest Coins with ships on them. The excitement of the high seas, the smell of the salt air, the wind blowing through your hair, or fur.
"Ever been to sea Molly?"

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Arrrr.. The closest she's been to the ocean, is in the bath tub. lol. Otherwise she is a land goer. She's a great girl for watching ones bounty, while out to sea. Not much missing from it when one returns.. very trust worthy. lol

1-1-18873987476784.png

Did I tell you already that I had 50 shillings somewhere?
If I remember to find it, I think I'll show it too!

You did! Now that you say that, I don't remember if I ever got back to you when you asked me if the 50 and the 25 were the same size?? Sorry.. No they are not. The photo I took of the lot I have was taken on an angle so they look the same but in fact are not.

Can't wait to see yours when and if you find it!

Okay, I shall show it on (tomorrow is Friday non-silver day) Saturday! And some orchids too! My Little Green in on its last blooms!

@tipu curate

Thanks @robibasa for the tip! I appreciate that 🤗