Mmmmmmm SILVER ~ Mexican 1 Onza .925 Silver Coin

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

IMG_1133 (2).JPG

Molly Say's Yummy, A Silver Coin! ..

Well, Not really. I enticed her with a cookie, trying to get a nice shot of her with my newly arrived 1979 Mexican .925 Silver Onza Coin. Didn't work as planned. Although I believe she appreciates the coin, she would much rather it be edible. It CAN buy a lot of cookies today Molly, but if you wait a little while, it may buy quite a few more!

Hive text divider.png

It All Started With ..

Selling a few things on a popular auction site. You may have read a few of my last posts about this very topic. If not, that's okay. I have been getting rid of stuff I no longer am enjoying, and leveraging up to some silver purchases. I had a few selections already planned out and another few that where totally spontaneous.

This 1979 Mexican 1 Onza.. Was one of those planned purchases. I have had my eye on this coin for quite a while, so when I finally saw one during a browsing session, I couldn't resist bidding on it. I ended up walking away with it at $31.00 USD (including shipping). Not a bad price at all in my armature opinion.

IMG_1122.JPG

The coin arrived .. And I was excited to open up the package. OH MY GOSH, this coin is MORE BEAUTIFUL and cool in person than in pictures. First opinion.. No regrets. I am super duper glad to have purchased this one. The thin plastic cover is sort of distracting, and I may upgrade it to a harder plastic cover. Anyone have any thoughts about that? Should I just leave it alone??

IMG_1128.JPG

The Obverse of the coin.. Depicts a coin mintage machine, used in early Mexican coin striking, called "de balancín". This is the feature that led me to buying the coin and adding it to my stack. The mechanics of vintage or antique things has always been of interest to me, so it's no surprise that I had to have this one.

Here is a close-up of the obverse...

IMG_1123 (2).JPG

On the reverse.. There is a scale in the center of the coin, with the exact gram weight (33.625 grams) below it and the purity (.925) to the upper left. I thought this was kind of neat too. A simple yet unique design. I love the details in the scale, including all of those tiny chain links.

IMG_1127.JPG

Hive text divider.png

Information From Numista ..

I found a little more info about the coin on Numista. One cool fact about this particular coin that I like, is that it contains exactly 1 oz of silver. The extra weight of .925 silver in the coin, 33.625 grams, works out to be 1 oz of silver in total. Read more below...

1-8739754975.JPG

2-898437875976.JPG

Source

Hive text divider.png

IMG_1130.JPG

Back To Miss Molly ..

Who always seems to steal the show somehow. Can't be her looks, that's for sure (wink wink). She was a bit upset at the fact that I said "Cookie", and resented an unappetizing and heavy square of cardboard and plastic. At first she liked the possibility of it being edible.

Tongue out and salivating at the idea

IMG_1133.JPG

Then I tried the whole "listen to the coin an you can hear the cookie factory making cookies" approach. Ummmmm.. I thought she was actually buying that load of garbage. She slowly leaned in to put her ear to the edge of the coin...

IMG_1134.JPG

When the moment arrived, that she realized I was lying, It wasn't pretty. She let out the worlds loudest and heart breaking cry.

IMG_1135.JPG

That was the last straw. She no longer wanted anything to do with my trickery. I could see she was getting very angry with her Daddy. She turned her head from me and the coin, stating she was done with the foolish attempts at getting the perfect picture and without proper and promised payment.

IMG_1131.JPG

I tried offering up the coin for payment.. Not exactly what I wanted to do, but I thought desperate times call for desperate measures. Lucky me, she didn't want it. Nope. She had her heart set on two things. Fist she wanted a good old fashion head rubbing and a little vocal praise like "Good Girl", "I Love You", and then finally "You're The Princess and I Am Nothing. I am here to serve YOU." Wow that one hurt a little, but I said it anyhow.

IMG_1138.JPG

IMG_1137.JPG

IMG_1136.JPG

** Second thing on the list, she wanted a cookie. Plain and simple. A single cookie would do just fine.** Soooo I went to the place where the cookies are kept, reached my hand into the jar, and pulled out a fresh, lion style animal cookie. She acted all cool and collected while strolling over for the reward, as if it was part of the plan all along.

IMG_1141.JPG

It touched her lips for only a moment.. and it was gone forever. Well at least till tomorrow when she heads out into the yard for a solid #2.. but you didn't really want to know that, did you? (sorry. my humor isn't always clean)

IMG_1142.JPG

Molly got what she wanted. I got what I wanted. All in all, today was a great day!

For now what is left to do? Let's just stack it away.. I think that's a smart move ;-)

Hive text divider.png

Awe Dang.. Bath Time. They Tricked Me Again!

IMG_1069 (2).JPG

“I'm sure I'll take you with pleasure!" the Queen said. "Two pence a week, and jam every other day."
Alice couldn't help laughing, as she said, "I don't want you to hire me - and I don't care for jam."
"It's very good jam," said the Queen.
"Well, I don't want any today, at any rate."
"You couldn't have it if you did want it," the Queen said.
"The rule is, jam tomorrow and jam yesterday - but never today."
"It must come sometimes to 'jam today'," Alice objected.
"No it can't," said the Queen. "It's jam every other day: today isn't any other day, you know.”

― Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland / Through the Looking-Glass

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Nice toning in that Sterling Silver Mexican Peso. Thanks for showing the interesting, real money, @bdmillergallery.

No problem.. I was happy to share this one, being that I simply love it. I like the toning as well. Nothing fancy, but nice none the less. 😁

That is a pretty cool coin. I agree with you on like the old machines and seeing how things worked back in the day. I don't watch a ton of YouTube, but I occasionally find myself watching the videos where people use all manual tools to build something. Our dog was a big lump after getting home from camping. Lucky her our next trip she gets to stay with Mimi and Poppa.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks! Yeah I really like this one. I am always amazed at how exact they got some things made, with how basic some tools are. Hahaha.. me too. I watch those videos on occasion when I am board in the middle of winter mostly.

Awwweeee Poor Jovi. All tuckered out. Well there IS a lot to see and smell on trips like that. Looks like you had a good time. I saw your campsite in that last post. Beautiful campground. Well, Mimi and Poppa will send her home full of energy for you! hehe.

Yeah, it was our first time at that state park and it was really nice. They had a bit of a gypsy moth caterpillar outbreak, so that was kind of a bummer, but we tried not to let it bug us too much. Next weekend we head to the UP and I am really excited about that.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Beautiful!!!!
That is a pretty coin. I have the 1980!
I love the onzas!

onza 1980 Obverse A.jpg

1980! What a great year.. I think. lol. Don't you just love the areas of relief on this coin? I love it! You have some nice toning starting around the edges of yours 😊

I think the reason why I bought it is I couldn't find a 1981 Onza... Libertad started 1982! 😊

Starting reading the coin then I can see the dog pictures below. Fast forward. Scrolling the below pictures with the dog. So cute 😂🐕😘

Awwww .. Thank you. She knows it too! hehe

This gives me the ideal of making some sugar cookies with the imprint of historical coins rather than the usual green red Christmasy theme I usually reserve for the recipe.
Incuse? Not enough relief.
Icing pen? too much work and effort.
Ink Jet stencil, maybe.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

DO IT!! That would be cool. And I would be excited to see the results 😊

I knew that you would not trick her for long and actually give a cookie. The pictures are so funny as they show the reactions hahha, there is nothing that a back rub won't do. She forgot the trickery after all of the cuddles. Hahaha I bet it works every time

I am trying really hard to get that to work. Most of the time she heads the other way, knowing what I am up to. hehe.

Sweet ass coin bd! I just picked up a couple of them recently. I totally dig the old machine depiction too 👊😎
Re: plastic/cardboard wrap — if you have many of them they stack well together (like old vinyl), however, “popping” out coins and feeling them all naked is another pleasant treat!
Maybe buy a capsule on your next dealer-order, but in the meantime I would have at that beauty *sans profilactic”
😲😳😜🤩😂🤣

Thanks @thedamus 😁 NOW I can't wait to pop out that coin and toss it around a little.. Over the carpet that is. lol.

Awesome post @bdmillergallery!! Love it. Yes art is everywhere, just some don't see it, that's OK, that's their art maybe?

Stack them onzas!! And honestly, this one's OK as it is, no need for an airtite.

Keep it up!

Thanks for the advice. I did end up popping it out of the plastic. It's even more awesome than before! Loving this Onza.

Art IS everywhere. Life is much more enjoyable when we open our eyes. lol.

Ah I missed Molly, I dunno why your posts won't show up on my feed, maybe I am doing something wrong. Its always good to see Molly.
She is a great gal focused on what she wants, not carried away by gold and silver.
A good amount of petting and praising always works with these lovelies.
Have you saved enough for the winter? Molly would need more cookies then.Hehe.

Hhahaha.. I am trying to save for winter, but she keeps blowing through boxes of cookies like mad 😆

The feeds are hard to figure out. I use Peakd most of the time and they have a way you can make lists of favorites and then label them appropriately. I can make multiple lists.

No way, she has such a small tummy she can't possible eat her way through the box of cookies LOL
Would you please tell me how you make those lists if you don't mind? I still walk in the dark with my eyes tightly bound with blinders on Hive. It is always hit and miss or manual search.

Do you use Discord? If so what is your handle there?

I do and I am sofs su there as well.

Let me see if I can find you, because it would be easier to explain there rather than in these comments.😁

What is your 4 digit #tag at the end of your name? Is there a hyphen between sofs and su?

No Hyphen, let me check the four digit tag, it is 9198

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you 😊

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 6500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP