A different kind of scam ? MNE coins

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Screenshot 20210126 at 11.11.56 PM.png

So .. I've found out that I've been airdroped 32k of MNE in one of my ETH addresses. And it shows that its worth almost $8k USD !! WOW !!! did I get another token worth that much for free ???

Then I started researching it. As when I tried to cashout using UNISWAP exchange ... it keeps on giving me error and unable to take it out.

I soon started to research more into it and found the website after finding it on Coingecko.

https://www.coingecko.com/en/coins/minereum

Upon reading more about this "MINEREUM", I realised that its actually locked and you would need to "Upgrade it". For you to do this you have to pay certain amount of ETH to get it upgraded.

Screenshot 20210126 at 11.13.09 PM.png

Now ... I then went to the trusty ole Bitcoin talk forums to search more about this "project and realised that it would take a long long long time to get this unlocked even though you paid for the upgrade.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5243473.0

By now red flags seems to be all over the place. Decided not to go for it and just let it sit in my ETH address. I won't say that its a scam outright because I've not spend a single ETH on it but unsuspecting individuals which see the value of MNE would just dive in and go pay for the "Activation" fee and then realise that they still can't trade the token yet.

So do make sure you do your research before going nuts about airdrops and try to understand how it works.

Cheers all and have a great day ahead.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

That's extremely worrying. I've always been suspicious of sites offering things that are too good to be true, but never thought that coins themselves could be nefarious.

The problem is, people who want to get rich quick are those that get into the handnod scammers.

Thanks for shedding light on this.

!wine


Cheers, @hive.miner You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @bitrocker2020.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 10.000 HIVE

Bueno la verdad sabemos que existen de todos y para todos, depende de uno si lo toma o bo, saludos.