You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Happy Block 50M + Blurt Under Attack

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Ok, well here's a more accurate summary, I'll try to keep it as short as possible:

I explained to her that one of the basic tenets of the chain was anti-censorshipment, so individual Hive users don't censor what other people can see.

I also explained, however, that she could mute posts from individuals such as bernie that she didn't want to see (and she could even encourage others to mute such individuals from their feeds, if she felt so inclined).

She clearly understood the above, as she's not an idiot, but I noticed that she would then misconstrue and re-interpret the things I actually said for the purposes of drama (not only on Hive, but on her other channels as well), so I started to wonder if her stated motivations were disingenuous.

After a few more interactions with her, I realized her real complaint wasn't so much about what bernie was saying to her, as about what he was doing: downvoting her posts, because he thought they were overpaid. At this point, I mostly lost interest in the topic.

If you want to waste a lot of your time, try re-reading the entire drama, and see if you still disagree with my conclusions above.

Sort:  

I'll skip going through the whole drama and support any move to protect un-censored-ness of the chain-- hive, blurt, or other:

https://blurt.world/blurt/@jacobgadikian/finally-some-boobs

I'll also say that Hive's ancillary communities (slack/discord/carrier pigeon network/whatever) and front ends are privately operated and that their operators should get ban-hammery in order to ensure that folks don't think that super-nasty behavior is being given tacit support.

If I saw super-nasty or illegal behavior in any of our ddooddads you bet I'd be after the folks running discord/whatever to toss out the nasties with immediate effect.

If content was ludicrous enough better bet that I as the operator of blurt.world would make sure it didn't show up on blurt.world.

Folks can always access the chain. Yes, even with the VPN added to the stack.

The witness role has just expanded to include ensuring that no one connected to you is molesting the network, that's all.