A couple short term misses

in LeoFinance3 years ago

target.jpg

source


Please tell me I am not the only one who buys a token and then totally forgets about it for months on end. I think (hope) a lot of us have been in this situation before. Either it is a nothing token that we pick up on a lark or it is something that is airdropped to us. At the time it seems fairly insignificant, so you don't pay too much attention to it.

This happened to me with two different tokens over the past couple of months. Sure enough, once I remember that I was holding them I went to look at the price and found that I had missed a relatively decent opportunity for some gains.

The good news is, as many people have stated, they feel we are still in the early stages of this bull run and I have a feeling this isn't going to be the last chance for me to recover some profits from these tokens.

The biggest question on your mind by this point is probably "what are these tokens you are talking about?"

Well, here you go:

separator.png

CHI

The first token I picked up is the CHI token. It is distributed and used by the 1-Inch swap. I had read an article about how 1-Inch was creating a token to help offset the high ETH costs that people are having working with swaps and DeFi right now.

I like many others know first hand how horrible those ETH fees can be. I have written at least one post complaining about them if not several. I am sure many of you have as well. I personally don't use 1-Inch, but I figured holding the token might not be a bad idea. I used my Uniswap account and moved some ETH into CHI. I think I bought in at about $1.10 or something like that and yes I had to pay a huge ETH fee to do the swap!

As is typically the case, I wasn't able to pick up a ton of the tokens (especially at that $1+ price point), but I picked up a decent number.

Today the token price of CHI is right around $4 even. If I had been paying more attention there was a window just a short time ago that the token price jumped up to the $7 to $8 range. That would have been a really smart time for me to dump. Especially since I don't actually use the platform.

Hopefully this wasn't my only window and the price climbs back up to those higher levels if not $10+, that would be pretty phenomenal.

TLOS

The second token that I had an epic fail with is TLOS. It is the token for the Telos blockchain which is a fork of EOS. It runs the EOSIO software, but the governance and tokenomics have been adjusted to reduce some of the shortcomings that the original EOS chain has/had.

There is actually quite a bit of development happening on Telos right now. Remember Appics from over on Steem? They are in the long drawn out process of shifting over to the Telos chain. I think BOID is working on some stuff over on Telos as well.

I had some spare EOS sitting around a while ago and I knew that I would probably be using Appics again when they finally made the move away from STEEM, so I decided to pick up some TLOS tokens. At the time the price was right around $.08 per token, so with EOS at about $3.50 I was able to get a fair number of TLOS for my EOS.

Right now the price is right around $.14 per token, but just yesterday I noticed there was a time a couple of weeks ago that the price was closer to the $.40 mark. It might have been a good time to at least get my initial investment back. Sadly, I missed it. I feel like I should have some kind of alert setup when I buy stuff like this.

The problem with that is like many of you, I own so many of these alts that my phone would be going off non-stop.

separator.png

So what has been your biggest miss? Did you get a second chance or are you still waiting for that ship to come in? Do you hold any CHI or TLOS? Did you make smarter moves than me? Let's talk about it in the comments!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


@eos.detroit Staff Writer/BOID Team Leader

Join our Discord here

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

My Blurt, I powered it down and couldn't get it to transfer anywhere, it's still just sitting there!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ah, that sucks. I think there was a way to move it around through sending it to a specific account for a while. Is that gone now? I can't remember the details off the top of my head. If I come across it I will pass it along to you for sure.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Mabe when it pumps again, if it does. I don't think it's worth the trouble right now.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, probably not! I dumped most of mine right at the beginning.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I wanted to say to deposit them on HE, but this option is no longer valid as I can see now.

You can send them to @taskmanager in exchange of DHedge coins, but please talk prior to him on discord: taskmanager
#1633

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don’t know either of those coins but I’ve definitely missed out which is very common in investing. I feel yeah I think I have probably 20 different crypto apps on my phone and who knows how many other wallets I’ve made over the years that I’ve forgotten about. Maybe when I get some downtime I’ll see if I can go through my old records and hopefully find a treasure.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am the same as you. So many logins and wallets that I have created on this exchange or that exchange. I need to consolidate some of my stuff as well. I think it is a great idea to do some self auditing from time to time!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I lost my password for a couple accounts...

Ah, yeah. That will happen.

I have never heard of these coins and it never happened to me to forget about cryptos I hold. I don't believe we're still early in this bull market, it's just that we haven't experienced anything parabolic yet. That's what we need to be prepared for and that's when the most financial opportunities occur.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh man, I have tokens coming out my ears! Especially all the airdops from the EOS genesis launch. Too bad none of those did anything special!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

ADA would be the biggest gainer and KCS the biggest loser from all.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I almost put some money into ADA when I was first looking at Cryptos. I ultimately decided not to, but I kind of wish I had now. I have never heard of KCS.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

what's worse is I have bought into ICO's and left the coins for years only to find the company squandered million and millions of dollars and produced nothing to speak off. To me it depends on your mind set and how focused you are, for this was a wake up call to step up my game, be accountable for my mistakes and learn from them. Best of luck, hopefully forgetting about assets becomes a thing of the past for you.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I agree! I think I will probably be much more diligent about my investments from this point forward! I hope so anyway!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have some tokens forgotten in exchanges, I don't even remember their names...

I am sure I have some like that as well. Did you ever get on board the AVINOC train? That one still has a Telegram bot kicking around. The token is dead. I think it is sitting dormant in one of my Metamask wallets!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

First time I here about Avinoc... It's a pain in the ass to custody a large amount of coins..

For sure!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta