You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Checksum

in LeoFinance25 days ago

I've gotta be honest, if I ended up in the seven figure range after this bull run, there is a good chance a fair portion of those gains are going to be moved into traditional finances. Still not the most secure, but as much as I love crypto and believe in it, I have a house to pay off and some other stuff to take care of. Once I have things where I want on the traditional side of things, I'm fine locking everything else into crypto.

Sort:  

the big problem will the taxes

and them not willing to allow you to be independent

I guess I really failed to mention here that Hive doesn't need this level of security because of timelocks, tiered keys, and account recovery.

I stake and lock everything for max duration. It's one of the main reasons I chose this chain.
Land, cards, SPS, HP, HBD.
If I can't lock it I don't want it.

No, you have mentioned that before. I remember some of your posts about why Hive can't suffer a ln attack like that.

Yeah I def talked about it in the linked post about dice rolling seed codes.
Honestly it's kind of embarrassing Bitcoin doesn't have account recovery yet.
I need to do more research but I think their timelocks would allow it.
And it could be even better than what we have.

You can kind of get it with ledger now can't you? If you have your BTC in a wallet there. Not that I would trust them... I think the bigger issue here is what did you ever do to piss off curangel?

Nah the Ledger recovery is if you lose your seed.

If someone gets your seed you're still totally fucked.
Which is actually the problem with Ledger recovery is that it exposes the seed to the outside.

I'm talking about recovery where you timelock the Bitcoin and if someone steals your keys and tries to move it you can recover it before they can steal it. Same as Hive recovery.
That doesn't exist yet on Bitcoin (or anywhere else as far as I know).

I think the bigger issue here is what did you ever do to piss off curangel?

I actually couldn't 100% tell you.
I used to roll in some pretty hardcore conspiracy theory cliques that had many run-ins with him.
I don't think I have the link saved but I started getting big-time downvotes after a post talking shit about downvotes.
I have lots of experience with downvotes actually going all the way back to berniesanders.
Cost of doing business with all my rough edges.

Ah, I gotcha on both topics!

That's all well and good but that could snowball the problem even worse during the next cycle.
If you end up selling anywhere near the top you'll be even better off in the next cycle.

I'm going "retro." Just going to write a half finished whitepaper and blast the ICO for good old times.

shut up and take my money

I just need to be sure I am set on the traditional side of things. That isn't going away anytime soon and given my age, I need some stability there. Six or seven figures would definitely provide that.

Yes well you may get a very good opportunity to borrow against your crypto and extract tax-free loans from it.
Don't just go creating tax events for no reason.