Splinterlands - Best Entry Level Death Summoner?

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

This season, I am focusing on my Death splinter!

This splinter is my weakest right now, and I want to convert it to one of my strongest! Similarly to my post on best entry-level Dragon summoner I will run through each of the available Death summoners, diagnose their strengths and weaknesses, and ultimately choose my top one or two recommendations for new summoners.

My situation is a bit different from last season when I was working on my dragon deck - my card collection now has specific strengths and weaknesses that I have noticed over the last season which I want to address. As I wrote about in my last post, I have found that I am very weak in the following types of matches:

  • No dragon or earth - I don't have a 3rd splinter to back these 2 up, and having both of these splinters ruled out is fairly common
  • No melee and no earth - If melee is banned then my dragon deck is useless. So it's earth or nothing.
  • No magic and no dragon - if magic is banned then my earth deck is useless.
  • Non-Legendary, Untamed only - my Llama is legendary and Daria is a Reward cards which means that they cannot play in the Untamed only non-legendary tournaments. I need to make sure at least one of my summoners comes from the untamed pack.
  • 4's and below games are not great for me, especially if dragons are also banned. If dragons are allowed I can sometimes pull off a win w/ Dragon/Fire using the Serpentine Assassin w/ +1 attack.

So, let's get into the Death summoners! There are 6 to choose from.

Contessa L'ament

Contessa.PNG

Stats:

  • Rare Summoner
  • Untamed Edition
  • Power - Ranged -1
  • Market Value - $0.343
  • Fully Leveled - $39.45

Pros:

  • Cheapest per BCX and cheapest fully leveled
  • -1 range power would fit in relatively well with my dragon deck which is melee. - Battles when I am not using that deck will tend to be battles where ranged attacks are favored - hence the -1 range will be useful.
  • I need a good Untamed summoner that isn't legendary for the untamed tourneys that don't allow them.
  • Still being printed - price could go up

Cons:

  • -1 range isn't especially powerful
  • Fully leveled price is very high

Owster Rotwell

Owster Rotwell.PNG

Stats:

  • Rare Summoner
  • Dice Edition
  • Power - Magic Reflect
  • Market Value - $0.446
  • Fully Leveled - $51.29

Pros:

  • Magic reflect is a cool power - could easily tilt games that have a heavy magic component.
  • Power would fit in well with my existing melee dragon deck for the same reason as above - games that penalize melee or favor magic are likely to be games that I don't want to use the dragon deck and so will be using this one.
  • Still being printed - price could go up

Cons:

  • I may be wrong, but magic reflect seems like it could be a good low-level skill (b/c health is lower) but not scale that well at high levels.
  • Power would fit in well with my existing melee dragon deck for the same reason as above - games that penalize melee or favor magic are likely to be games that I don't want to use the dragon deck and so will be using this one.

Zintar Mortalis

Zintar.PNG

Stats:

  • Rare Summoner
  • Beta Edition
  • Power - Melee -1
  • Market Value - $0.470
  • Fully Leveled - $54.05

Pros:

  • -1 Melee can be quite good - probably marginally more useful that -1 range
  • I see a lot of players using Zintar

Cons:

  • -1 melee doesn't stack especially well with my dragon deck, since if Melee is favored then I will probably be wanting to use the dragon deck
  • Beta edition is out of print, and so probably already priced up

Jarlax the Undead

Jarlax.PNG

Stats:

  • Epic Summoner
  • Beta Edition
  • Power - None (but 2 mana)
  • Market Value - $1.074
  • Fully Leveled - $49.40

Pros:

  • 2 mana is always useful, especially in low mana games
  • Cheap on a fully-leveled basis

Cons:

  • No powers
  • Beta, so price may already be high

Mimosa Nightshade

Mimosa.PNG

Stats:

  • Legendary Summoner
  • Untamed Edition
  • Power -1 range, Void, Affliction...but 7 mana
  • Market Value - $7.75
  • Fully Leveled - $85.25

Pros:

  • Great powers, effectively takes out ranged and magic - so in rulesets w/ no melee this would be deadly

Cons:

  • Expensive
  • 7 mana, too mana expensive for some rulesets
  • Did I mention expensive?

Crypt Mancer

Crypt Mancer.PNG

Stats:

  • Legendary Summoner
  • Beta Edition
  • Power -1 melee, -1 speed, -1 health...but 5 mana
  • Market Value - $13.50
  • Fully Leveled - $148.50

Pros:

  • This guy is a beast...-1 melee, -1 speed, -1 health really takes out the enemy team. And for 5 mana, not 7.

Cons:

  • Way out of my price range
  • Price is likely maxed - don't see it going up any higher from here

Conclusion

So, which should I choose? I am tentatively leaning towards either Contessa and Jarlax - both seem to fit in well with my current decks, and they're at a price that isn't too terrible. Let me know if you have a favorite Death summoner in the comments, and see you next time.

-Brucolac

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Hey @brucolac, if you want to receive upvotes from the official game account, take part in this challenge that happens every week: Splinterlands Social Media Challenge!

Congratulations @brucolac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day