The Holy Trinity 2: Koinos Mining

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Or how I got my Koinos miner up with a lot less errors than my friends. In this post I will be referring to the Command Line Interface Miner rather than the GUI Miner.

image.png

Hello Everyone,

I decided to use my unutilised server which was just sitting about to mine Koinos (the new project made by many of the former Steemit staff and a few others). It seems like a cool idea (whitepaper and website).

Yeah, so I decided to avoid the GUI miner because I don't usually keep my desktop on 24/7 (and my server can bash out about as many hashes as my computer) - it will have around double the time to do so though, also I can leave it for weeks on end without having to interact with it.

As it turns out, I am not a very good guide, and told my friends to use npm run ... rather than npm start ...

Since I had funded and used the desktop application, I needed to import my keys... to do this I did the following:

npm start -a 0xmyethereumaddress --import
0xmyethereumaddress is the address to recieve new Koins, not the private key that I'm about to import. I then followed the steps and after saving it to keyfile.key and adding a password, I proceeded to start it with

npm start -- -a 0xmyethereumaddress -e wss://main-rpc.linkpool.io/ws -p timeinseconds604800=1week -t 0 -k keyfile.key

This has the following parameters:

  • -a = ethereum address to send new koins to
  • -e = The network to connect to, it defaults to testnet which mines testnet Koins, so make sure to set that.
  • -p = The time in seconds to target to generate Koins (each submission happens straight after finding and a higher time means more difficulty which generates more koins, so you'll pay less fees but get approximately the same amount as someone who mines koins 24 times a day for 1 week if you mine one Koinos "block" per week) - I set mine to a whole week or 604800 seconds
  • -t = Percentage to the developers. I am greedy so I kept it all for myself, you can give them some if you're nicer than me.
  • -k = The keyfile generated in step 1

When you start it you have to unlock it with the password from the previous step.

The ReadME has a detailed guide of everything you'll need to get setup. If that's too much for you, you can always use their simple GUI Miner which doesn't require you to install any libraries, and comes pre-packaged in a neat little installer!

Hope this helps someone,
~ CA

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Yea this fool is the reason I spent so much time trying to start it up. It was npm start not npm run.

You're the one who came to me for help.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nowhere I could find even ONE word on mining PC requirements. Did you?
Is it worth to have more powerful CPU? How much?
If this mining is ASCI & and memory (VGA) ignorant - does it make sense to launch more than 1 pc? What if I get 10 PC, 20 PC's?
Will there be any limitations against this?
Perhaps they will have a way to refuse (during coin airdrop) such multi-PC owners.

So many unclear moments....

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Any PC should work.. that was the goal anyway.
A more powerful CPU will help you, it's also memory hardened and so will probably need a little more RAM.

You would earn more on multiple PCs but you have to pay $2 in ETH fees every time you claim a reward. More PCs can be used with no issue, so long as you don't have them all with the same private key.

I hope this helps!