Hive Will Definitely Work IF

in LeoFinance4 years ago

bee hive.jpg

I like the idea of Hive and it will definitely work. It will work only if it is simple, open and supportive. Look I have been at this a long time as far as content marketing. I was in the twitter beta program, I've spent more time than I want to admit too stealing things out of the fridges at Facebook and Instagram. I've taken dumps at Google headquarters and I'm the a loser in the 12 year club at reddit. So I get the social media aspect of steem. And it sucks.

Hive has a unique chance to flourish because it is going to be founded by badasses who get it. But what needs to happen is those who start out as whales need to bend over backwards to vote for people who post. If they don't like the content, who cares? Don't downvote just help the people understand what type of content is valuable.

If people are supported they will feel a sense of ownership. They will feel like valuable members of the cool club.

As For Content:

Content is king and I can tell you from 15 years experience, shit content is king. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Reddit and to some extent tik tok have spent over a decade teaching people how to create, share and consume social content and that content is shit content.

Social content is valuable to the social network of folks on social networks. The good stuff goes viral. That's just how it is and it wont change.

I have always thought that steem could be massive but bad leadership andthe false believe that marketing was the missing link were holding it back. Let's face it, there aren't any steem influencers that have become mainstream stars but all the of the networks I have mentioned above have all had influencers go mainstream. And those type of content creators are what we need on steemit and now hive.

My favorite app ever on steemit was share2steem. It was the one that allowed you to share your instagram directly to the steem blockchain. Now some felt it wasn't fair for those folks to get rewarded for that and I get it, but there were some blindspots in that type of short term thinking. Imagine reaching out to instagram influencers with millions of followers posting and luring their followers over to steemit by telling them that they both can monetize their lives by posting and viewing on steem. Over the long term steemit would have proved to be a valuable extra network to post on and invest in because influencers would make more on steemit than on instagram.

Trust, me instagram influencers to make as much as you think they. The majority make nothing but the clothes they shill and that's about it. There is plenty of opportunity to reach out to influencers on other networks and exlpain to them how Hive will work to help their social profile and income.

That is just a simple example. It will work for twitter, facebook groups, pinterest , youtube and Tik Tok as well. My point is that when hive starts and if the whales share the wealth with folks trying to find their voice without getting the worry of getting blasted into oblivion with downvotes Hive will work. Now I'm not talking about "Hi sirs, vote me sirs, your content good sirs", but I'm just saying build this thing by being open, welcoming, nurturing and accepting of normal social content

Posted via Steemleo

Sort:  

i think there may be more than just me on here that gave up and left TV, FB, YT, Google hangouts, and other so called social media for one reason. We grew very very tired of so called friends advertising crap to us, of mainstream media advertising crap to us. So this line of yours I honestly do not understand in the least:

So I get the social media aspect of steem. And it sucks.

I for one do not want to see all the crap from all the other so called social sites. How many People from Africa do you speak to comment to visit the blogs of. How many from Mexico, Argentina, Portugal, China, Korea, Iran, Pakistan, Russia, The Netherlands. I don't need to see a lot of crap being advertised to me. I like seeing the pictures from these area, the stories from the real people who live in all these various areas of the world, I hate it when I get the "Video Not available in your area" from yt, and then I have to search for it.

I hope that Hive is not going to be like those other so called social sites you mentioned. I liked steem exactly because it was not like those other places, if I wanted to be in those other place having my mind wiped by so called friends pushing products at me I would be there on twitter, fb, yt or what ever other hack site people think of as social.

You can add my name to the list of people who don't want to be fed a bunch of advertising as mentioned by @bashadow. I don't use any of the other "social media" sites; just this one here. This is my home and I prefer to keep it clean (no crap).

Expect the Hive Police one of the first influencers on the new chain.

I do expect that but I think it is wrong. There has to be a lot of leeway for people to stick. I introduced a few instagram influencers to steem after the downvoting starting. One just posted Hello World to test and they got bull dozed. They quit and I looked like a dick. It wasn't cool

It is wrong.

I hope they are, the spam does not need to follow, it can stay here on steemit/tron.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

I think it comes down to having to share the same reward pool. If there are separate reward pools, they will all be responsible for creating and rewarding their own value. SMT was supposed to offer this a long time ago.
Hive will be the glue holding it together and the structure making it possible. Hive token will be the hard exchange.

It's going to be called "Hive"?

Yeah. Not sure I really like the name. I hope they rethink it.

Hi @cflclosers!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.304 which ranks you at #5780 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 61 places in the last three days (old rank 5719).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 75 contributions, your post is ranked at #74.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

But what needs to happen is those who start out as whales need to bend over backwards to vote for people who post. If they don't like the content, who cares? Don't downvote just help the people understand what type of content is valuable.

If people are supported they will feel a sense of ownership. They will feel like valuable members of the cool club.

This right here. If you do not get anything else from this post please get this. Authors are the backbone of any social blockchain. Delegate stake and back communities to help them feel valued in the new Hive dispensation.

That was the hope with the new economic model but that was never the case.