The Problem With LeoFinance Is That It Is Too Good

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

x7L2VSNEiyAB5Ux7nxKmLo6yLyEJT6Jt5yhNCUpGMctD4K9Jz67rVsCrgYZpU8m5ZjSUZKJF316FK4q.gif
Credit @mariosfame

A lot has happened in the crypto world, and real world over the last few days and it highlights a problem I'm having here on @leofinance that I don't encounter on Hive and certainly never encountered on Steemit.

The Content Is Too Good!

I started noticing it over the last month so It was way before the whole Robinhood thing. Don't get me wrong, it's a good problem to have but it is a problem all the same.

The problem is for curators. There is simply too much good content out there that doesn't get the attention of the curators and it makes me feel uneasy.

I am but a whimpy collection of two curation accounts and combined I peak out at just above 4100lp. It's simply not enough for me to do what I want to do. And what I want to do is let content creators know they are being seen and heard by giving them 100% upvotes.

My problem is that I run out too quickly. My combined 100% vote equals around $.12 to $.20 and just that little chunk is enough to be encouraging.

If I chop up my votes I feel like they are too small to really matter to a newbie or even a diligent creator that has yet to find their devoted audience.

I'm a big believer in the idea that ROC>ROI (return on community is greater than return on investment) and while the whales do a bang up job around here, I tend not to follow their votes because I want to cast a wider net.

The whales can't be responsible for growing the entire platform through curation and guys like me who have been lucky enough to receive a few whale votes need to pay them forward. It's the only way it will work because the current whales can't be responsible to do it forever. After all, we whale hunters know they are nothing more than blubber and bone lol.

It's in this vein that I say Leofinance is too good. There is so much content worthy of votes and not enough curators to get around to them all. And to top it off, we learn that 100% manual curation is exhausting and nearly impossible to do efficiently. I'm amazed that @onealfa.leo hasn't had a nervous breakdown yet lol.

On @leofinance we seem to have a pretty hardcore community that doesn't exist across the entire base layer of hive. I don't really feel bad for people that post on Hive and get no support. It's a big place and you have to seek out a community that you like. And steemit, well is steemit.

But Leofinance creators for the most part have found their community, believe in the direction it's heading and trust the leadership. That hasn't happened before for most creators and it's incumbent upon us to keep them engaged.

After all, it should be easier to develop a "customer" once they are already onboarded than it is to onboard new people and go through the churning process. It's also a lot cheaper!

I'm sure this is a "problem" worth solving but it is something to be mindful of and we can't rely on whales to make leofinance happen. Let's take the torch and run with it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I don´t agree, there is not too much good content, but people tend to vote always the same top 10 whale posters, so there is not much left apart from crumbs to the many no-name authors. Maybe I exaggerate, but I hope you see my point.

I'm fairly new to the community, but I believe that is indeed a significant part of the problem... I did the same myself for a couple of weeks... now I'm actually trying to dig deeper and look for the good content regardless of the author.

That is mainly because I know nothing about crypto and there is a lot of good people willing to share their knowledge here

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is most certainly one of the problems. It has been since the early days of steem. People often continue to vote for whales in hopes of getting votes in return.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I do see the point and my point is it is beginning to change for the better. I just wish we can make those crumbs bigger for people. I hope that happens eventually.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm amazed that @onealfa.leo hasn't had a nervous breakdown yet lol.

He takes breaks once in a while and has walks in the snow. People still have snow where he lives, not like in my town where we get rain for weeks during winter...

I agree with you. there's a lot of good content around here. some often times kicks ass of mainstream crypto media outlets.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's starting to get really good. Honestly, it wasn't the first place I'd go-to for the latest news but that's all changing now.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's a good point, I agree, people try to make their content better here, personally I also try to make everything as professional as possible, probably this is a problem for the curators :S

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't think it has to be "professional" as possible. I am just noting that it's getting better. People have a lot of good things to say and they are doing it here.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The system here is unique because it doesn't reward based on views like the rest of the Internet, causing clickbait. It rewards effort. Hence the consistently good content.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I try and hit a good quality post a day and besides that I'm spending my time writing comments back to people about their articles and curating them. By the time I know it often I'm at 60% power lol while other times I forget sadly and I'm at 100% and it feels so wasted! Lots of great content and I hope more curators come forward. I feel like it's a good even balance between posting, commenting and giving votes to those you feel deserve it for the content they have written.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I do the same thing. I wish I had more so I could do both. I need to adjust my Leo/Hive ratio.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I agree, it's very hard to curate and not drain all your power. I do upvote a lot of the same people (not whales very often except Taskmaster because I do really like his content). I stopped upvoting people that don't reply to their readers even if it is great content. I would like to see a post about that. I'm thinking I will at some point follow a trail to better spread the votes more.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's an interesting criterion for upvoting. I never thought about it but now that you mentioned it, it's really nice when authors interact with their readers. As a beginner in the crypto-sphere, I learn a lot by asking questions on posts and having them answered by kind authors who put some time and energy to help others. To me, that's a key aspect of community retention.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I m glad you noticed that, its something I figured out a long time ago. My best connections happened because of that one rule.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I try to do the same thing. A lot of content gets left out by me because I try to engage in my comment section. I think I need to adjust my hive/leo voting ratio and just give up on Hive voting

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yup, I don't ever watch my hive power anymore, Leo power is my most important thing at the moment and probably for a long time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I finally successfully changed my vote Multiplier to 10 so I can give 100% vote from my leo account while giving only 10% from my hive account. It was confusing for me for awhile but it's going to go a long way for me. I can give out way more 100% leo votes now!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You think running out of voting power is a problem now, just wait till microblogging comes! Then again, I'm not sure what the rewards mechanics of that token will be yet so curation could be different there.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I guess that will be a good problem to sort through. But you're right. I'm going to blast through my power in a couple of minutes lol.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The tokens spread with the time out. I have now 50 LEO. I also upvote and spread it more out. Something like LEO needs time ( same with HIVE).

At some point, the token is in enough hands to better reward all useful content.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good point. I think the whales are doing a good job of distributing the wealth. 50 Leo is a great start!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You are right!
But I can't manage to have as many views as you :-/
It would be a much more satisfactory experience

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

We need to spread the votes. Its easy in theory. Hundreds of votes from small accounts will be worth a lot combined.

If we already face this problem now, imagine how big of a problem it will be in the near future..

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good problem to have though. But it will be a problem. Depending on how it all works with the microblogging, I think I'll have to chop up my votes. Probably have to buy more Leo too.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I Think the same but i don't have mucho LP

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You will. I can't see many people selling so the accumulation of Leo is the way to go.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Boi agrees! We're spot on with the latest crypto news and it's much more interesting to read Leo articles than the big media outlets.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

One of the most improtant things that can happen for @leofinance is a great number of users who can drop considerably sized votes. As LEO price go up, a smaller amount of LEO per vote will do. If there were few hundred curators who can give a $1 vote on the platform, we can have better vote distribution and a stronger ecosystem of content creators.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's true. I hadn't really thought about the votes at higher prices. That will be great for a guy like me. I can chop up my votes and they will still be encouraging to to people. I don't mind burning up my LP in my @tulwave account but this account votes a lot of Hive. I'm going to have to give up on Hive curation soon lol

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You should keep some HIVE Power around for the @threespeak airdrop. It could turn out to be great.

Ask to get a dedicated curation room on discord where only selected curators could post (to prevent auto/friend promotion). You could share posts of interest there. I’ll be happy to have a look at it and curate them.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

When more people realize the potential of this community, they will bitterly regret not having started participating here before the big boom.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

or having the ability to buy more like me. If I had some money I'd invest but I don't. Gotta do it the hard way and grind.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

2021 will be a good year for LEO!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think you're right!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta