Donate To Canadian Truckers With HonkHonkHodl

in LeoFinance2 years ago

If you have not followed the story, It seems like something snapped in Canadians and manifested in the freedom convoy. A demonstration by local truckers began last weekend in Ottawa. The protest is against vaccine mandates which have become a rallying cry around with country and protests are now starting to spread to different cities like Toronto and Quebec City.

Unlike countries like mine where protests are an everyday thing and can turn violent at any second, this one has been remarkably mild, yet still received a lot of hate. Protests have been labeled unlawful and unruly and institutions have been encouraged to distance themselves from their truckers and supporters of them.

The GoFundMe scandal

Many people around the world have sided with the movement and used GoFundMe, to raise funds for the movement to keep going. A massive 10 million Canadian dollars/ US $7.8 million, which just shows you how much support this movement is getting. However, the online crowdfunding site which is a centralized entity has only turned over about 1 million dollars of that.

They've also claimed they will not be releasing the rest of the funds which has encouraged people to find alternatives, and in steps bitcoin.

There is now a Bitcoin funding program run on Tallycoin that has already raised close to 9 BTC, their original goal of 6 BTC has long been smashed but people continue to donate to the cause.

Screenshot 20220207 at 10.45.16.png

How to donate

  • Click the link here
  • Select the amount you want to donate
  • Select if you want to use Bitcoin on-chain or Lightning network
  • Add a memo message (optional)
  • Get a receive address and pay it

I used the lightning network so it paid instantly, and cost me no fees.

Donate using HIVE

If you want to donate directly from hive you can use the @v4v app instead supported by @brianoflondon

So when you generate the lightning invoice following the instructions above, simply open this link

And paste the invoice and pay with your HIVE it will automatically be converted to Bitcoin on the lightning network and donate to the fund.

Bitcoin showing it's worth

This is what bitcoin was made for, uncensored money can fund ideas and movements that governments want to suppress. Now that people have resources that cannot be stopped or debased, you can see more movements like this getting funding.

What do you think of the protests? Are you for or against the movement? Have you donated?

Have your say

What do you good people of HIVE think?

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post, sprinkle it with an upvote or esteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler and subscribe to my fanbase

Safely Store Your CryptoDeposit $100 & Earn $10Earn Interest On Crypto
ledger.jpgBlockfi.jpgcryptocom.jpg

celciusnetwork.jpg

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I'm in support of the freedom convoy👍 and thanks for bringing the payment methods to my notice.

I definitely dig their vibe, hope they can keep the positivity going and happy to donate to the cause

I used that v4vapp and worked a treat 👌

Whenever freedom needs defending, bitcoin will find its way there to fund the movement, its just too easy with bitcoin lol

There are too many ways cryptocurrency can come in very handy in our daily lives. Clearly, here is one of the ways.

A similar issue happened in Nigeria during the #Endpolicebrutality protest, donations were made but the accounts got frozen. Bitcoin donations was what came to the rescue.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

absolutely, if we can funnel capital to people with different ideas we bring together a competition of ideas and not only resources and we can drive real change

I am for the movement and I think people are free to protest whatever they wish. It kind of disgusts me how bad the media is trying to spin this in the news and I think crypto is a great choice to use as a funding mechanism. Why? It's because the funds are sent directly to the fundraiser and there is no middle man.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I believe people should be able to protest even if I don't agree with their message, I see many protests I think are dumb but I don't go out trying to shut them down, they should have their message heard.

Saw this yesterday, going to test it with a little bit to make sure I get it right using hive! I’ll toss that shit 15$ in a heartbeat! I’m glad the Canadians have some balls!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Such a peaceful protest, I'm impressed I had to support it, when we do it here it turns to shit real quick and things are set alight and the army rolls in, we have no chill here

seems like something snapped lolol
wow 9 btc alrdy? last i saw it was 5 .. they're moving quick!
also have you seen this post about the convoy going around LOL ?
https://www.instagram.com/p/CZs4NAWP-rW/

LOL I love it, such a great meme!

How can they withhold money that isn't theirs?. Bitcoin is worth it afterall.

I really wished we have other weapons we can use against the government aside protest, because my heart goes out to every protester especially in my country why the government will hire hoodlums to disrupt protest and turn everything violent.

Gofundme is a shit coin lol they're just following what their shareholders and political connections want, that's how

It's sad its the same here, people sabotage protests and turn it into looting and the message gets lost