Sort:  

Semi-forever category. If I cannot first borrow against my Precious metals as equity then I got a pile of Generic and Govt. minted precious metals I can sell first before it ever comes to sacrificing that. An example of diversifying in Precious metals asset. My Poured Pirate silver is hold forever-ish. ☠️

Are there such facilities where your metals are evaluated and you can borrow against them? Or can you do it at say a pawn shop? I know nothing about this sector lol

I think there we be opportunities for creative financing following an economic reset.
Buying a business or a Rental property perhaps.
Institutions would be prodded to stimulate the economy by offering attractive loans but most former businesses would be already bankrupt or have insufficient equity to meet minimum loan requirements.
I can put my Canadian gold and silver Maple leaf coins up as collateral for a business loan without exposing my home as collateral.
The Maple Leaf coins are recognizable as Govt issued legal tender and its value will be easier to evaluate by loaning Canadian Institutions. Therefore, I don't have to sell my gold and silver and remain in control of my asset.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I do hope that eventually Bitcoin gets recognised like that and can be used as collateral to access capital that would be amazing, savers would be winners as they collateralise others loans and keep financial institutions solvent and can pull out at any time to find the best rates,

While holders can borrow against it take risks, generate cash flow to pay back or if they don't banks aren't at risk because the loan is collateralized