You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Going to College in the United States: Going Into Debt

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Hello dear AG,
even before I had finished reading your article, I thought I had to tell you about Germany, but then you used my fatherland itself as an example.
Fortunately, students here at public colleges don't have to pay fees if they graduate within a given time frame. So a certain equality of opportunity between rich and poor is guaranteed. Unfortunately, the selection here starts much earlier, which I could sing a sad song about as a special education teacher with many disadvantaged kids.
Best wishes for your granddaughter and her paying family!
Warm regards and a strong hug,
Chriddi

Sort:  

Hello friend Chriddi,
So nice to see you here. I'm not surprised to hear you work with children who have special needs. My brief career was also with children who faced unusual difficulties. In my earliest years I was slow...so slow people gave up on me. Then I went through an inexplicable learning spurt and somehow became one of the bright kids. I changed in everyone else's eyes, but not mine. So when I taught my 'special' students I always saw myself.
As for tracking, in this country we track in a different way. We have school districts that are tied to neighborhoods and neighborhoods that are tied to wealth and race. So, though nobody calls it tracking, that's the effect. Every family shops for a home in a "good" school district.
I think people with privilege will always find a way to exert that.
Forgive me the long response.
I hope you, your husband and those beautiful dogs (especially Max) are well.
Very warm, sincere regards,
AG