Sort:  

I don't think it will go out unless it is solar flare related, or perhaps terrorists.

I do not fear Russia or China taking it out until they are at a state where they see the benefits of us not having power as outweighing the benefit that access to all the compromised internet connected machines in our country give them.

Right now I kind of think it'd happen only in response to one of the following from them:

  • They are ready to invade...
  • We are attacking them and they want to make us stop focusing on them...
  • They no longer see the access to our systems as being beneficial...

Of all the potential dangers I'd say solar flare and/or terrorist actions are the biggest danger.

The big problem is we don't manufacture some of the important parts in our country anymore. Thus, we would take some time to repair the outage. If at all. If the country we can get what we need from is whom we are at war with or they see benefit in not helping us then we'd be kind of screwed.

I know some states are trying to take steps to make this threat go away but, it is a very few number and I don't think they are that far into the process.