What Goes Up Comes Down

in LeoFinance3 years ago

What goes up, comes down to go further up. This is same for any investment you made, when it goes up you tend to think you have pulled a great trade, when it starts coming crashing down then you might think why have you bought it or why haven't you sold it when it was high. People comes out of the trade booking their losses but again it's the price goes up and makes a new ATH.

This happens with me all the time and I think it's natural and we have to keep doing what we think is correct even though we gain or lose its our decision and we have to stick with our decision because that's what is our learning opportunity.

Let me give you an example, Paras Defense share was making new ATH ever since the IPO. Only one day it hit the lower circuit and we thought that it is the end of this shares nice run. And most of the people sell thinking they have sold it on high, but from the next day onwards it is again hitting the upper circuit and its value became doubled from that lower circuit.

img_0.6406266780944679.jpg

So this is the classic example of what goes up, comes down to go further up. If you would have sold it at 700, 800, 900 or even 1000 by making a profit of whatever percentage. You should not be unhappy that you have not got more profit or why have you sold. But I guess it's what you wanted at that very moment and you have achieved your wants.

My father sometimes takes decision about his investment into stock market. He had some shares of IRCTC and he sold half of them at Rs. 4000. I tried to convince him that it was not a right decision to sell now as it might go up and it did, from Rs. 4000 to Rs 6500. He did not had regret, what he said that I am satisfied on whatever I have earned.

img_0.12474477670710443.jpg

This satisfaction helps us to keep our greed out of equation. And I think from now onwards I have to be satisfied with all the trades I do, even if it's big or small. I will be satisfied if I book profit, or if I lose something because I know I will be better the next time I wiil go to the same situation. This will be the same for the investment returns you are getting, we all want to get high returns but if you are getting average returns but you are satisfied thinking you will achieve the goal, then be it. It's upto you to decide the what goal you have and how much risk you can take to make it work. Greed will not help you to achieve that.

So what goes up, comes down to go further up and its upto us when we should buy or when we should sell to be satisfied with the trade we do.

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.