Another Appliance Packs Up

in LeoFinance28 days ago

source

Profits vs Quality

This morning our dish washer went on the blink with the on off switch not working and continues to run no matter whether the dial is on or off. This is kind of expected for most appliances these days that are two years or older because the quality is that bad. I am sure they are programmed to stop working after so many hours of use guaranteeing a constant supply and demand scenario. The dish washer may actually have made it to the 3 year mark or just over so it has faired better than the average appliance. Certain makes like DEFY always pack up as the warranty period ends being 24 months.

What makes no sense is I have the same make on a double door fridge that I have had since 1989 and I have had not one problem. Maybe repassing, but that would be considered normal after that length of time. I have two other fridges now half expecting it to pack up, but it will most likely outlast those two.

In the last 20 years Ii would guess I have gone through around 4 or 5 washing machines and around 3 fridges along with 3 or 4 tumble driers and the same number of dishwashers. Appliances just don't last and why I turned to renting them instead because it doesn't pay you to own them outright. This went against everything I knew because it was always cheaper to own something outright, but this I don't believe is the case in this country at least anymore.

The rental agreement basically covers the cost of replacing a new appliance every 3 years ad hey have the hassle if anything goes wrong replacing like for like with new f it cannot be repaired the same day. The problem with repairs in this country is that by the time you have paid for the repairs plus parts and the call out you are left wondering why you just never bought a new one. The repair may last another year and I have been there and done this where you end up buying a new one anyway.

I checked the price tonight of a new dish washer and it works out at around $10 per month and they carry all the risk. The repair will cost me around $120 which is what I would guess with a 6 month warranty. I am better off just renting because this will not last 12 months.

The last washing machine was repaired by a company which left it in a worse state than it was before after they had some how modified it. The so called repair companies are mainly fly by night technicians and I have not found one I can rely on yet. Renting is the only alterative leaving the problem with someone else to deal with.

I gave my handy man a ring this afternoon to see if he could recommend someone and he popped over to see if he could fix the dish washer. He believes he can and will do the repair in the morning. If he can then great, but I can see another rental happening if he cannot fix this. My mind is already kind of heading that way anyway so it is not a problem either way.

The big problem is South Africa is the load shedding and electricity spikes we receive when the power is restored. The constant turning on and off does not help either and can be as much as 4 times a day.

Currently we have a chest freezer and washing machine on rental and expect one of these days to have every appliance with the rental company. I am still amazed at how a 36 year old fridge has lasted this long and it can only be down to the quality of the parts used.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Indeed, those old fridges have memes made about them. "I am eternal. I shall be a fridge to your grandchildren!"

We had to replace a 2 year old Microwave oven two weeks ago. I feel the pain... And I will have to see about renting... Where can I rent a font-loading washing machine?