Desperate Times For Television Companies

in LeoFinance6 days ago (edited)

This morning I received a call from a debt collecting agency working for Multi Choice which is DSTV the local television cable company in South Africa. I have not used their services since 2016 so this made no sense as surely if I owed any money I would have been contacted 8 years ago. During the call the debt recovery agency was confused after explaining to them the 8 year gap. I phoned DSTV to make sure we owed nothing and they confirmed our balance outstanding was zero. Plus according to my limited knowledge you are debt free after 5 years or I thought that was the case.

source

I thought I would see what is happening at Multi Choice and low and behold there is an article basically telling you they are bankrupt. I stopped using their services in 2016 mainly because it was sub standard offering repeats instead of new material. At the time we had a smart television and started streaming instead of paying an over priced subscription for sport and outdated shows.

source

For those of you wanting to try this out click on the source above and it gives you detailed step by step instructions, but you will need a fire stick and a smart tv. The fire stick is about the cost of one months subscription and in our case was around $45. Obviously you also need internet which I plug straight into the tv.

We invested in a Fire Stick which gives you a menu to various Apps like CyberFlix, Cinema and Kraken TV just to name a few. I stream the latest shows and live sports from all around the world offering me every film and tv series ever produced updated daily. I do not watch much tv, but this is available at your finger tips.

source

The Fire Stick gives you access to a menu which has all the apps.

Premiership Football from the UK with every game live is just the tip of the ice berg as there are over 400 sports channels including every Sky Sports channel. Funny enough DSTV is on here as well ad it is no wonder they are going bust because if we can find this out then others are as well.

With the economy the way it is households cannot justify paying for a subscription that offers no value. Between 2022 and 2023 the customer base shrank by over 15% which ultimately means those remaining pay the shortfall with steady increases. There is no money to invest in new shows and why they can only afford to buy bundle package deals that other countries have already seen and are literally worthless.

Last year I started seeing live sports being broadcast on X (Twitter) and where I watched the last Fury Usyk fight all for free without having to pay the $30 they were charging pay per view. I see this is where X could become very big very quickly offering live sports streaming for a monthly fee. The stream I was watching had up to 16 million viewers at one point and there were multiple streams of which I counted 6. There is no time delays or lagging on sporting events which I noticed ca be as much as 5 minutes on DSTV and why I watch football on X as well these days.

DSTV are obviously desperate looking for money which in my case thankfully I don't owe. It got me thinking are they phoning up everyone who is no longer with them in the off chance that people will just pay what ever they are told is outstanding?

I read reports last year that the French TV company Canal was looking to buy them out, but if they just bide their time they can acquire Multi Choice for free or cents on the dollar. I do think TV companies as we know them now are on their way out and within 5 years there will be many alternatives.

This is why football clubs are being seen as a better investment because we are not faraway from when they will control their own live streams. Sky Sports cannot continue paying what they are paying if subscribers can find the same content free elsewhere.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Wow, that's are actually very fast in my opinion, people like you and I already ate tilting towards making web 3.0 more and putting traditional means aside, although first time hearing of the firestick, will love to try it.

A question for you;
Where do you get your information mostly the firestick or the hive network, do you believe the hive network can be an outstanding source of information ?

I have a mix of fire sticks and rokus in my house. We mostly use the fire stick though all of the streaming services are getting ridiculous. It's as bad as cable was now.

Good one bro, you've really found a better way to enjoy TV without the old cable subscriptions. It's true that streaming has changed everything, I ditched mine too and haven't looked back😂😂😂