New Accounts That Need Help?

in LeoFinance3 years ago


source
We have all been here and at least we knew we had enough Resource Credits to not really have to worry. I just feel sorry for anyone having this problem and is a genuine new account and not an alt. Imagine being excited about starting something only to be told you can't do anymore.

During the week whilst curating the @sportstalksocial community I came across one account who was new and popped in to check the history. These days we are so used to having alt accounts from other users one can never be sure but this was different and a genuine newbie. This wasn't the case as @johnvonbob just stood out like hey I am a newbie and one could see by the voting and how he was joining many communities. Something tells you immediately they have no clue and kind of stand out telling you that this account is brand spanking new.

I popped in today to check on him and was a bit shocked to see the guy can't do anything for 3 days as the resource credits were low. We have all been there maybe not in dire straits like this as imagine doing a post and a few votes and being told that is it for the next 4 days. In the past new accounts received the 15 HP which was paid back and got you going at least. I struggled in the very beginning but it was never this bad. If we are going to grow Hive and keep new users this can never happen.

I know @leofinance helps new accounts and this one was done via @eccency and had no idea accounts were let loose with no HP or very little. If Hive and the tribes are going to grow we have to provide the basic tools to exist as this place is hard enough to understand and grow. Imagine being left in the bush without a knife as you would last 5 minutes and new users are the same. If we want to grow as a community we have to at least offer basics for growth.

I delegated 100 HP earlier as I just couldn't let this happen and thankfully the resource credits are up and he can continue again. I just put myself in that situation saying that could be me starting out and that is just not right. I must admit I have started to look out for anyone that needs resource credits as without that you can't do Jack. I don't mind delegating and will look after 20 new accounts if there are others out there needing assistance. I am sure there are others out there who feel the same way as this is not something I am happy seeing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

lmao thanks for the shoutout. I am new to Hive and the wait after my first post has been a bit of a bummer, but I just got my second one up lol.

My pleasure and now you don't have to worry about not having resource credits. The delegation will allow you to stay active. Remember you have 20% worth of votes every day so 10 x 100% votes. Try and keep VP above 80 percent and this will help you grow as well. Stay active and you will grow in no time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks a lot!

No problem. Use the vote as a tool finding users to follow you. Comment as much as possible and being so small don't have to upvote every comment or post either. I will help you wherever I can.

What a good mentality you have colleague, I admire you. In fact when I started I felt exactly like that, I realized that when I published I was already consuming 80% of the resources. But thanks to @taskmaster4450le and some other users who lent me HP I have been able to advance with my account very fast. There are many users with this good mentality of helping others here on the platform, I also plan to do this at some point when I have enough HP.


Que buena mentalidad tienes colega, te admiro. De hecho yo cuando inicie me sentí exactamente así, me daba cuenta que al publicar ya me consumía el 80% de los recursos. Pero gracias a @taskmaster4450le y algunos otros usuarios que me prestaron HP he podido avanzar con mi cuenta muy rápido. Hay muchos usuarios con esta buena mentalidad de ayudar a los demás acá en la plataforma, también planeo hacer esto en algún momento cuando tenga suficiente HP.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

There is a good group of people in this community who are willing to help and this is good to see and this bodes well for the future as if everyone looks out for others then this place will grow very quickly.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's exactly what I mean. I think we can grow the community in the best way by helping newcomers. The idea is that new users can be consistent and can commit, so by giving them some HP they would already have the tools to do that.


Exactamente a eso me refiero. Creo que podemos hacer crecer a la comunidad de la mejor manera ayudando a los nuevos. La idea es que los nuevos usuarios puedan ser constantes y se puedan comprometer, así que brindándoles un poco de HP ya tendrían las herramientas para hacerlo.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

http://foodiesunite.net/ #foodiesunite also delegate 100 HP anyone who joins from their front end. I know the pain and would love you help if anyone needs it.
Not able to post could be very discouraging to most of the users. First Impressions is the last one and you want to make a very good one.

Good work. I have a friend who has just joined hive and he has had similar issues. Today I delegated some funds to him so hopefully his experience will be a little more fluid from now on. Keep up the good work

Excellent colleague, we need more people like you in the community. Best regards!


Excelente colega, mas personas como tu necesitamos en la comunidad. Un saludo!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @cryptoandcoffee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 2100 posts.
Your next target is to reach 2200 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!


Your post was promoted by @theanalystjohn

I do think it will be an issue and its also why I was concerned about an huge influx of users from Project Blank. This means that there was going to be probably many people who will run into this issue.

I was lucky because some people delegated some HP to me when I was small but I don't think new people will know about the tools available. We need some sort of FAQ that new people can go to so they learn about some of the details.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta