Reflections on 10 years in the cryptoverse

in LeoFinance3 years ago

fabiooyXis2kALVgunsplash.jpg

A Long Journey

This year is going to mark almost 10 years of being in and around the cryptoverse. It all started with the Let's Talk Bitcoin show when I was a young housekeeper cleaning rooms on the western edge of Canada.

I would listen for hours even though I had no crypto in my possession. One day, I listened to a talk by Dan Larimer about Bitshares and something hooked me. I got into the bitsharestalk forum and started talking and lurking.

I receive my first bitcoin when it was about $200 shortly after the Mt Gox debacle. The first bitcoin I bought was to buy BTS token. For years, I never owned BTC...I was an alt-coin degen looking for a moonshot.

Then Came Steemit

Well, that was one heck of a ride. I had moved on from my crypto involvements for a while when I got pinged by a friend about Steem. That was before the first payout. Man oh man, I wish I could go back and have a good conversation with my younger self.

My biggest mistake was to not have faith in BTC. I wish I would have secured a few BTC with the gains and let them sit there for years. Hindsight is 20/20 of course.

My Current Position

I missed the last bullrun of BTC, so I placed all my bets on ETH when it was still at around $250. I'm glad I did. Now, I'm 100% BTC waiting for the next bullrun, the Altcoin shakeout and the opportunity to buy ETH cheap in relation to BTC.

I'm now all about YIELD. I discovered Celsius network and did my research on them. I think this is a beast that is yet to be recognized. I don't put all my eggs on a possible moonshot on them BUT getting 6.4% yield on BTC is pretty sweet as well as the possibility to borrow on my crypto at 1% to save taxes on capital gain.

WhatsApp Image 20211002 at 12.06.02 PM.jpeg

Conclusion

I wish you all a great bullrun. What is your strategy?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Diversity is key. There are so many promising projects with strong communities and smart people out there. If there is an "alt-coin shakeout" I doubt it will last long. Bitcoin will remain king for some time, but it's overall marketshare will continue to decline with time, and successful new coins will be popping up for years to come.