You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why We Shouldn't Be Funding HBD Stabiliser - We've Got It The Wrong Way Round

in LeoFinance3 years ago

First of all thank you for replying. Let me answer your points as best I can, in order.

we need a stable asset to pay for development and other costs

Okay, I understand there are development costs, however I don't understand why they're linked in particular to HBD. I think what you're intimating is that if Hive say is fluctuating all over the place, then we need a stable coin that we know what it will be in the future. (If not, please correct).

Well I would counter that argument by first asking, why does it have to be HBD? Why can't, as I've suggested above, Hive be the stable solution?

Secondly wishing the coin to be stable does not make it so. Stable coins like USDT are backed with real cash in a real account, thus its value fluctuates +- 1%.

I bet you would like to see usdt going off its peg as well if that would make you richer somehow.

That's not a fair comparrisson for two reasons;

  1. You don't invest in USDT to become rich, how its pegged to the dollar is quite clear and transparent therefore anyone investing in this coin is doing so as to hold their crypto, or to day trade on small fluctuations.

  2. You can't compare HBD to USDT, it has no peg and its value is controlled by market forces. Plus I earn HBD by creating content for the Hive site, ergo it is quite reasonable for me to want its value to be allowed to increase unfettered.

Cg

Sort:  

You can't compare HBD to USDT, it has no peg and its value is controlled by market forces.

Not for long. HF25 will include a mechanism to convert HIVE to HBD, and the peg will be easier to maintain within a certain range.

Hmmm, will this Hive sit somewhere? Will the value amount of Hive equal HBD regardless of price?

I still suspect it won't be a true peg.

It's just so frustrating watching this play out. This whole platform is at the mercy of people who think they're right and have huge influence, so the rest of us just have to suck it up and watch.

If you guys are successful in pushing down the price, I guarantee that will negatively effect Hive and me and a lot of content creators will simply go, leaving you guys to play with your toys on your own.

Cg