Google Local Guides - Greedy Google?

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I'm a person which was always first to help. Full of empathy and full of energy to change my small world or sometimes a little bigger. This attitude pushed me to the local election to become a local Councillor in my home city. After moving to Ireland tried to connect and unite the Polish community to help each other. As an IT College graduate, I like to use a new technology or something different than what are using others (I'm writing this post on my Linux Ubuntu). But what do these things have with Google and Google Local Guides?

logolocalguide.png
Source

Who are they?

Local Guides is a global community of explorers who write reviews, share photos, answer questions, add or edit places, and check facts on Google Maps. Millions of people rely on contributions like yours to decide where to go and what to do.

I was starting this program from the very beginning, posting feedbacks, adding photos ( my wife was looking at me like I am a freak :) ) and new places. Currently my Local Guide · Level is 6.

lvl6.png

How many levels are there?
googlelocalguidespoints.jpg
Source

Today Google email me with a message that one of my photos reach 6 300 000 views.

argos.png

I think it's a big number but do I have any profits for that? A few years ago, in the beginning of this program, Google was giving 100GB for free on Google Drive... but just for one year. I think they should keep this benefit for people who are posting for example 50 photos every year. Unfortunately, they stopped... and I stopped posting.
I'm getting older and I'm respect my time, especially I have three children. Better spend time with them ;)

As @tarazkp post his article Web 2.0: The internet of the poor
about WEB 2.0 and WEB 3.0. I want some profits, tokenization for my work. Especially from that big giant like Google!

Am I wrong? Maybe Google isn't greedy just myself? What do you think?
I know for sure, HIVE is the future!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I remember you were telling me about this but never really looked into it. Nice post.

Google is definitely greedy and it was from the beginning... I remember the times when Google Adsense was paying over 70% of earnings to website owners from ads... Now, if that percentage is over 20% it's a miracle... Anyways, you are providing free work to them and growing their platform and earnings...

Imagine something like that on a blockchain? Rewards people like you for their contributions and help to local businesses? I hope that someone will do it and take that piece of the pie from Google... ;)


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project and it will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg

Exactly, people like Local Guides improving the database, attracting the app by photos or real people feedbacks. I will be happy for extra space on Google Drive, but they only can give you early access to the services, and again you are a beta tester for free. This is why I stopped posting there but starting here. I'm happy with it.

Btw, thank you for picking up my post.

Hey mate, you might want to check out the Have You Been Here community and Pinmapple.

community:
https://peakd.com/c/hive-163772/created

a post to help get started:
https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@martibis/pinmapple-and-haveyoubeenhere-hive-163772

You may as well ern on your travels :)

Thank You, I will take a look!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Great tip. Thank you @tarazkp - I did not know about this before. :)

Argos Clonmel?
Of all the places to be popular. 😂
I would have though the cliffs or at least TK Maxx.

What can I say? Looks like people like Argos 🤣 Your next travel will be to Argos... Christmas is coming.

That's true.
Who doesn't love a trip to argos.
Always worth browsing the magazines. 😂

🤣🤣🤣 @niallon11 is off now to take photos of Lidls .

Must be worth at least 10m views. Especially coming up to Xmas. 🎄

Congratulations @cryptoinvader! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP