Sort:  

let me add my comment here my friend...everything rentmoney said is correct but i dont think if you understand what he said cause i see you are new...

let me tell you...what makes you strong in the whole hive-blockchain is you STAKED power...your HIVE POWER
this is HIVE tokens which are staked...lets say locked...
the more you stake (power up) ,the stronger you get cause you get a bigger piece from the whole pie
as rentmoney said more staked HIVE means bigger upvote rewards
so if you hold 50 hive power , your upvote lets say is 0.05 HIVE
if you hold 200 hive ,your upvote will be higher lets say 0.1 HIVE

and remember when you upvote-curate , 50% goes to the user you upvote and 50% goes straight to your wallet

i hope you understand

Thanks friend, this helps clarify my confusion about powering up.

It increases the size of your upvote which in turn allows you to award more of the staked token to the content creators you upvote. The higher the value of your upvote the more potential curation rewards you can earn.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ah I see, when you power up, the upvote rewards for upvoting increases and you get reward also for curating contents. I have also learned that you can delegate hive power so if someone uses that delegated hive power to upvote, you get rewards as well. I hope I got it right.

Some offer rewards for delegating your hive power to them and some don't. Make sure you double check before delegating.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta