Are meme coins harmful?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Earlier today I spent way too long creating this artifact filled monstrosity.

Adobe_20210124_232629.jpg

I made it purely to be used as my noise.cash profile pic. But when people jokingly asked when the airdrop is, I thought back to Dogecoin and how that became an actual functioning currency.

I personally believe it could be harming the image of cryptocurrency by making the uninitiated think it's not something that is being taken seriously. And in the financial sector that is devastating. It would be like mastercard releasing a batch that starts with 5318008.

coin.jpg

On the other hand it could also be used as a tool to introduce people. Next time someone owes me money instead of giving them my paypal maybe I'll send my DOGE address.

In either case with Doge hitting a cent in January it's definitely here to stay, for better or worse.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptosneeze! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP