Getting Sued $8,000 for Using A Photo on A Blog | Copyright Law Education

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I've been blogging for basically 3 years on the blockchain. It's been a wonderful place. This stuff is so much easier than video production and massive competition on YouTube. I'm not interested in Instagram or other social media. I'm not into being a freelance journalist. I blogged on Steem when I discovered it and now I'm blogging on the forks too. I've met many friends and the community on blockchain is quite awesome. I'm happy to have you guys read these these stuff and I'v learned a lo from posts here.

Copyrights Are Necessary - Copyrights Are Complicated

In an increasingly connected world, it's hard not to share and comment about things. I believe people should be given value for their work. I'm no favor of abolishing copyrights or patents. But these laws haven't keep up with rapidly changing tech world and the tools we have access to these days.

Time to Get Schooled

It was all cool and I was nodding my head in approval except for 1 moment that was kind of alarming. A blog could get sued for $8,000 for using a photo on a blog!!! Think abou how many pics you guys have used in your posts! I actually found the article that described the $8,000 lawsuit (which managed to end at only $3,000). You can read the details here.

Ho Do These Apply To Blockchain Front Ends?

I honestly don't have much clue about it. We see people posting stuff on social media all the time. But on the other hand they aren't earning anything out of it. On top of all of that....... we need to remain censorship resistant. How are we going to deal with censorship in these legal landscapes.

Photography Copyright Law (The Good, The Bad, and the Grey Areas)

So I got thrown into this sort of rabbit hole when it comes to these legal thingies. There's so much complexity and I really wan to see a time where we have simple universal trademark, copyright & patent law. If the 1 hour 37 minute lecture is too long here's a quick video that'll educate you on few things.

Few Stuff On Fair Use Law

I think we can get away with a lot of stuff on blockchain as fair use. I'm not sure & I'm not a lawyer. Also..... lawsuits are complicated. Here's few things for you to know:

More Copyright Education

I'm not trying to preach anything here. I don't even think I'll make any massive changes on how I've been posting. These stuff are really complicated and I'm no working for a publishing company. I think there's better informed people in the community and they'l be able to figure out something for the future with all these copyrigh stuff.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I only use screenshots I've taken myself or images from free use sites like Unsplash - better safe than sorry ;-)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That is a very clever idea. I do use screenshots a lot, but not when it is easy to simple post the link.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's why a reference link for not just images but external information are all crucial over here, those things I never miss out on

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I see you have your bases covered :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, I wouldn't want any casualties.

Since I arrived here, I learnt the culture to source every image I use except it clearly states "no need for citation" or something like that, which I mostly get from Pixabay.

Anyway, only ever rarely do we see posts like this that reminds or educate a lot of us of some important things to take note of here

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's actually a very good practice.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta