Splinterlands Saturday: The Calm Before the Storm

in LeoFinancelast year

LogoSplinterlands20230107 114642.gif

Hey Everyone, I was going to skip writing this week because it's actually been one of those rare weeks where nothing dramatic really happened. We're all basically playing the waiting game as land staking hasn't arrived yet, but its coming soon. The goal was end of March but it won't surprise me to see it delayed until the first week of April. There are a lot of moving pieces that need to be nailed down and with the whitepaper only a week old, there's still quite a bit of discussion surrounding how it's all going to work.

In the meantime, there are a couple things to report on. First...


New Proposal

There is a proposal up for vote right now that would allocate a large chunk of SPS to be used to try and achieve listings for the SPS token on more exchanges, including either Binance or Coinbase. While there is no guarantee that either of these will succeed, the team that would be doing the negotiating have been responsible for the past exchanges SPS is listed on and they feel now is a good time to try and get this done. Reading through the proposal, it seems to make sense to me so I've voted for it. While it feels like a long shot to get one of those two big ones (especially Coinbase), the more exposure we get, the better it is for everyone IMO. And if they do manage to get it listed on Coinbase, I think that would also have some positive benefits for Hive as well. The proposal lays out the numbers involved and why they think they're fair and reasonable. As I said, I agree with their rationale and have given it my vote.


Soulkeep Beta

logoSoulKeep20230211 130401.gif

Another thing that happened this past week was the opening of the closed Soulkeep Beta. Anyone who has 500 packs of the Soulkeep game is now able to go in and test it. I do NOT have 500 packs so I'm only able to go from what others are saying in chat, but it seems to be meeting with some pretty positive reviews so far. I'm not sure how long they plan on keeping it in this format but it's definitely a big step in the right direction. As I said, most of the people commenting on it have been very positive about their experience so hopefully that means it will be opening up to the masses in the not-too-distant future. There's also some sort of pack promotion being planned for it so we're supposed to "be on the lookout in the next week or two".


DEC and DEC-Batteries

splDECB20230326 185536.gif

DEC-B has now sold about 850M of the potential 2B available so that has made a pretty significant jump over the last week. DEC has also risen to .8/1000 and held that level fairly strongly. If you remember, it was bouncing between .6-.7/1000 for quite awhile before the release of the whitepaper. Aggy and crew continue to warn everyone that there will NOT be enough DEC to go around once land staking starts so...something to consider if you plan on staking a bunch of cards on land once it goes live.


Vruz Airdrop

Last but not least, the staked SPS-based promotional airdrop was released early this week. Players were airdropped one Vruz for every 1000 SPS they had staked and simply needed to spend 1 VOUCHER per card to claim them.

splVruzstats 20230326 181608.gif

From the Dragon Splinter, it seems to be a useful little card with only a 2 mana hit and lots of Speed along with Sneak, Martyr, and True Strike when maxed. I've used it a couple times so far and while I can't say it won me any battles, it certainly helped on both occasions. I have been acquiring them here and there over the last week and plan on maxing it out at some point. The regular foil have been trading around 50 cents each so they're certainly not cheap, but they're not crazy expensive either.


One last thing, I posted this last week after the whitepaper came out but thought I'd add it in here as well. It's just a quick chart on how each different maxed out card fits into the mix as far as staking on land goes. Its helped me keep things straight so I thought I'd share.

splLandproductionchart 20230319 203805.gif


That's all I've got this week. As I said, we're basically in the calm before the storm as the land staking should ignite a firestorm of activity once it goes live sometime in the next week or two. One last thing, the new Energy System that was implemented seems to be working just fine. For me anyway. I haven't heard too much negativity on it since it's gone live. Lots of grumbling beforehand, but now that it's here and being used, everyone seems to be adjusting just fine. The biggest test will be what people think about it during the End of Season frenzy as people try to claw their way up the leaderboards. Since that is now only four days away, we'll know soon enough.


As for me, I'm back in Champion with Modern and in Diamond I with Wild. I have definitely noticed a very positive effect on my SPS earnings for battles from the new energy system. I'm also getting a few more chests each day as well. My win rate has climbed a little bit so I can't tell how much is from the energy system and how much is from me simply improving my game, but it's probably a little of both. Either way, it's been a plus from my standpoint.


Lastly, my Soulbound report so I can keep track of my progress:

  • 966 RF Common; 41 GF (3 of 12 with 0)
  • 193 RF Rare; 10 GF (9 of 12 with 0)
  • 34 RF Epic; 3 GF (6 of 7 with 0)
  • 15 RF Legendary (6 out of 12 with 0); 0 GF Legendary (12 out of 12 with 0)

Not having much luck with Goldfoils, or Legendaries in general. I'm hoping to have a big season of chests this time though so maybe I'll actually be able to get my first one this week. Not holding my breath...


That's it for the week. I'm sure there will be much more to report next week but for now, Happy Battling!

And remember, if you're not using LeoThreads, you're missing out on getting some free $HIVE and $LEO. It really is a no-brainer. Post some battles. Post a poll or two. Post some thoughts. Post whatever. It's Hive's version of Twitter and it's just getting better and better. They are viewed as comments by the blockchain so they won't clutter up your feeds. It's a great way to expand your audience and earn a little money while you're doing it.

Hive is the Way.
LeoFinance, the Gateway.

Leomediumlion20230208 150321.gif

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

As we all have seen that the sprinter land team has been very active and updated for some time now and I have to say that they should join the land. Because people have been waiting too long, when things don't show up on time, they lose value. And the way you are telling that at this time SPS is talking about listing another big exchange's and if it happens in the same way then we will see in the next few days we will get it. The price will be seen to go higher because the way we see the land gameplay is also coming and when there is good news from all sides, the price will definitely go up.

I was thinking about you two or three days ago, then it came to my mind that you had posted, you will be busy now and you are right that there is a calm before a big storm and this silence is exactly the silence before the storm. We all know that Splinterlands is great blockchain game and as we know changes and upgrades are very important to capture the interest of new users and increase the interest of existing users. Have a nice day to you dear stay blessed.

:) Hurry up and wait.. but some cool things happening..

Where exactly do we claim the Vruz airdrop? I have 30k SPS staked so I should have gotten a few, but the system never notified me about it so I had no idea... and have no idea. I'm looking around in all these buttons and I don't see it anywhere.

It's a good thing you asked because your claiming time is almost over. Just need to go to the Shop in Splinterlands and click on Promo. There you can claim them by spending VOUCHERS in equal number to how many you have. You'll get 1 for each VOUCHER up to the amount you have available. Most will be regular foil but you might get a Goldfoil as well. I had 40 and got 39 RF and 1 GF.

If you haven't done so, you may need to transfer some VOUCHERS from the SPSchain to In-Game. Enough to cover the airdrop anyway...

I just checked, as of now, you have 18 hours left.

Lot of positive things happening in Splinterlands just now. I have bought some dec-b which i use to purchase more energy for daily battles. I only have 3 packs of soul keep. I was thinking if its better investment wise to buy more tower packs or get extra chaos packs. I guess chaos pack are a better choice as its proven !

Yeah, I don't have many Soulkeep packs either. There's only so much to go around, right? As for which is better, your guess is as good as mine. Chaos is now out of print, but there were 14M of them sold so there are a lot still out there. Soulkeep doesn't have nearly as many packs but the game isn't even finished so who knows how successful it will be. Either one will probably good down the road. It's just a matter of how long you'll have to wait...

Thanks for sharing this amazing information with us @dagger212, If the purposal got approved and sps got listed on exchange, that would be great for over all Splinterland ecosystem and players will get happy because the Price of Sps will sky rocket.

I think it's a good thing to get more SPS listings and I think that is a good way to promote the game. As for DEC-B, I sold quite a few VOUCHERS and I am going to convert that into some DEC and turn that into DEC-B just to have some on hand.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You can actually use VOUCHERS to purchase DEC-B directly. You don't need to convert to DEC first. Pretty sure there's a dropdown where you make your purchase that allows you to choose DEC or VOUCHERS for payment. I don't have enough of them to have tried it since I want to save them for future needs such as the promo airdrops like the one we just had with Vruz.

I sold my VOUCHERS already but I think it's fine. I'll still get some DEC-B using these earnings and I'll use VOUCHERS next time when I buy them.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @dagger212! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 150 LEO on Leo Power Up Day!
Thank you for participating in the Leo Power Up day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - April 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Congratulations @dagger212! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the April edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Congratulations @dagger212! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the April edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Wen dagger back at long form blogging fren!?

Another couple weeks. Gotta finish up a few jobs from the fall and then everything will grind to a halt over the winter and I can get back to spending some time in front of the computer.