Why an appealing thumbnail is important for your content

in LeoFinance2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Thumbnail Importance.jpg

Daltono Seperator.png

Make the effort to stand out 👀

In a world full of simpletons and mere copies, why not do something to separate yourself from the herd? If you are going to put all of this effort into creating content, you should also give it an image that actually represents what your work stands for.

I believe that the better your thumbnail is for your post/video, the more likely it will be that you will find success in this world.

In this video today, I discuss the supreme importance of having a solid thumbnail as the foundation for achieving higher engagement with your content. I go over quite a bit and make some comparisons to other things that I believe will help you understand why this is a vital aspect of the creation process.


I mentioned several different websites and apps that you can use to create a good thumbnail yourself or perhaps even hire someone to do it for you. I am going to link all of those here so that it is easy for you to get started.

https://www.pixiteapps.com/apps/union/ (great mobile app for combining images)
https://www.canva.com/ (desktop and mobile app that is capable of creating logos and thumbnails)
https://unsplash.com/ (The internet’s source of freely-usable high-resolution images)
https://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/ (best photo editing software)
https://www.fiverr.com/ (freelance marketplace where you can hire people to create thumbnails for you for cheap)


I also wanted to take the time to tag the users who I mentioned in this video so that others can check out their profiles easily:

@chinito
@taskmaster4450 / @taskmaster4450le
@dalz
@forexbrokr
@ykdesign

I think that you are all doing great things and you should be proud of your efforts. Hopefully, any criticism that you received can be taken positively and help improve your content even more.


Thank you so much to everyone for taking the time to view my work. Drop a comment and let me know what you think about the level of importance thumbnails hold in terms of content creation. I'm willing to have a discussion and even help you figure out how to get started with designing your own thumbnails to take your content to the next level.




Thanks.png

Profile Footer.png

My NFTs: https://inji.com/@daltono/nfts

Daltono Ocean God.jpg

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️My YouTube Channel 🎥Create a free Hive account 🗽Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦
click hereclick hereclick hereclick here

Daltono Seperator copy.png

Discord: Daltono#5080


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Thanks for your advice. I've been following your posts for a really long time and I've been trying to learn. Your logo caught my attention recently and I was thinking how cool it is. I want to design a logo of my own. What do you think is the best site for this?
I also love making thumbnails, I used to be a youtuber, I had like 300 subscribers. But it's been years since I left that thing and I want to start again for this place. I want an app that's free. Do you have any suggestions for that?
About the sound, I must say that I really hear it more clearly and comfortably today. I thought this problem was caused by my computer because I don't watch anyone else sharing videos other than you. You are here again with an excellent post. Great job!

I highly recommend you hire the person they designed my logo. I can do a lot of things, but I wanted my logo to be in a specific style and somebody on Hive actually did it for me. Was even able to pay with crypto and it was a fair price, well worth the investment. Check out this post to see how the design process goes and how you can contact the artist and give them your idea.

If you’d rather go the free route, try the Canva app that I linked. It also looks like there might be free version of Photoshop coming soon, learn more here. You can find more alternatives to Photoshop in this article.

Also thanks for commenting on the volume. I’m glad it’s better now, but I feel bad for my other videos not being quite as loud. They will be from here on out.

Dude, I read the posts and I found a site called renderforest that you mentioned there. It is possible to make a logo from that site and I think I will design a logo from there. How did you design the dividers you used on your page? Can they also be designed in Canva?
I would like to get help from someone for this thing and have something professional, but I'm not at a level where I can afford it right now.

I’ve never used RenderForest to create a logo. I did use that website to make my video intro/outro. I would highly recommend getting in contact with @baptisttadg for a custom logo. You’ll get all of the files you need and it’ll be done in a timely manner.

Dividers need to be images on a transparent background, saved as a .png. Otherwise it’ll just turn into a white background disrupt the flow of the image. I have a feeling the artist could also make those for you. Would be worth investing into those, although making yourself is an option too.

I understand, then I will continue to use it like this for now. In the future, I will contact the person you mentioned and have a logo designed for myself.

Loading...

Greetings friend @daltono, a pleasure to introduce myself, I was going through some publications when I saw yours, which caught my attention, I am a little new with this hive, but little by little I have been learning to improve my publications, (the truth I do not know if I'm doing well), at this time I could see some of your publications and I see that you have some beautiful thumbnails, I would like to make some like that.

I usually rely on publications about movies and drawing, in the movies I have seen that many place the cover of the same, but in the drawings I have noticed that only place the image of the final result of the drawings, I only follow the example of others, but for a professional like you, I would like to know if I'm doing it right, I would be very grateful with your comment, I also thank you for this type of publications, makes many newbies like me can learn more how to improve their publications.

I'm very glad you commented, because I have a lot of information for you that will help you do even better than you already are.

Firstly, I just took a look at your page. Your reviews look really good and I like your use of custom designs and you have good taste in movies. Using a high quality image of the movie poster is an excellent idea.

The way that I'd change your thumbnails to make them more personalized is by turning those vertical posters into landscape rectangular images. You can do that by adding a background, maybe other images, and text. I've linked some apps at the top of this post if you don't already have some.

I'll also send you many examples of how I used to do my movie review thumbnails. I've written many over on CineTV. I even have a collection with all of my movie posts in an easy to find place. Here is the link https://peakd.com/ccc/daltono/movies-and-tv-shows

Let me know if you have further questions. I think once you look at my movie thumbnails, it will give you a great idea where to go with your own.

Lovely and enlightening video! I'd always been attracted to your posts because of your thumbnails and especially your logo. Thanks for sharing these links. I've never tried photoshopping but with the Adobe link, it shouldn't be too hard, right?
Nicely done. !LUV !PIMP 🙂


You must be killin' it out here!
@kemmyb just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @daltono.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Thank you for saying that, very kind of you. Photoshop is a lot to take in at first, but it becomes so intuitive once you figure some things out. There are many features that I've still never even used, but the things I know I know very well. I have dozens of shortcuts memorized by heart and I love using the application.

It also looks like Photoshop may be getting a freemium version soon, more info here.

If you’re interested in getting your own custom logo, here is a post about mine and how you can contact the artist. They are actually on Hive and accept crypto as payment at a fair price, I highly recommend.

Nice! I see the freemium version is testing in Canada already. I hope they make it accessible for everyone. Many thanks for these info. I'll look into them. 🙂

Me too, I’m tired of paying monthly for it.

Greetings brother, long time no go by your posts, I have had a lot of problems with my internet connection, lately, in fact I still have them, I will have to move city to be able to have a more stable internet, but that is not the case, I normally use Canva to make some of my covers for publications, but I have always loved the professional level you have, my goal is to make thumbnails like the ones you do, they are too cool and look fantastic, Canva helps a lot to make thumbnails and covers, so I have had to understand it a little bit because it is a little complicated, since there are millions of ideas, but soon I will master it, greetings brothers, good video.

I'm happy to see you here again. I hope your internet situation can improve soon, I know you enjoy creating and interacting on here.

Canva can work well,but Photoshop offers way more creativity options. Stay on the lookout for the freemium version of Photoshop that is said to be coming soon. It's difficult for many to pay $10/monthly for access to the app. Hard to find a cracked version anymore too.

Thanks for the compliment by the way. I work hard on these thumbnails 😎

Having a catchy thumbnail drives the chances higher for people to engage with your content. I personally experience it here on Hive and elsewhere. Catchy thumbnails tend to have more views and engagement that uncatchy ones. The thing is creating catchy thumbnails takes time, so I don't put much focus on it. This post has been a reiteration for me, I hope I stick to it now!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Even with a great thumbnail, people still may not click to view the post. We need to do as many things as possible to reinforce our content and increase the chances of engagement. I think that if you reconsider the importance of your thumbnail, you may start spending more time getting that part ironed out before your post goes live.

Right, there are many moving parts and we need to focus on them as much as possible.

Yes, That's what I do once I write the skeleton/structure of the content.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, the sound on your previous videos,is very low i hardly hear you,so any time i wanted to watch the video i make sure that i uses headset, which amplifier the sound a bit,but this vey video is audible, i didn't border using the headset. About the thumbnail it vey great including it on one post, what i do before was to put and image,maybe one, but now i am even adding i gif to it,and using canva, which will be include in my next post, later today.i don't know much more about editing but canva is doing a great job, i just started using it,it not that great but i believe with time,it will be better, i will check out adobe and photo shop later and see their amazing features.anyway thanks for the info,it is a very great job you are doing.

I'm glad that Chinito said something, you are the third person to confirm that the sound was too low before. It was a very easy change for me to turn up the volume on the clips.

GIFs are incredibly powerful as well. Thumbnails get people to come in and loads of GIFs will give them a reason to remember what they read.

Photoshop has a monthly subscription, but they are said to be working on a freemium version. Until then, check out many Photoshop alternatives.

Yeah the thumbnail is very important! When I was making YouTube videos, the thumbnail drew in people more than the title and I even experimented with that a little bit. Sure enough a decent thumbnail got more views on something than the content.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

There are a lot of things to think about with a thumbnail. The overall design/theme of corpse. I believe they should be rectangular and landscape orientation, so dimensions the right are valuable. I do all of mine above 4K quality 4800x2700, file sizes are giant though (thankful for that cloud storage). If the file size thing is an issue, resolution can be lowered. I wouldn’t go much lower than 1280x720 though.

Ah damn that’s crazy 4K resolution lol. I don’t know if my hard drive would like that too much! The images end up looking pretty good despite it being mobile for your thumbnails so that’s good. I’m always worried that an image would look crappy on mobile since that’s how most people consume it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

My PSDs are usually over 1GB for each thumbnail 🥹😅 there’s certainly much need for that high of resolution, especially with most people being on mobile. However, after I’ve seen that clarity, I can’t go back.

💪😊😃😎🤙 Wow, thank u, thank u.. for the mention and for tweaking the volume for me and other speaker/hearing lacking ppl. It's perfect now.. I turned up the volume on the vid window..

image.png

and it was all good.. i didn't need to turn up the vol knob on my speakers at all, which is what I used to do.

U'r so right about the thumbnail. I read the posts on my list no matter what the title or pic, but it does definitely make me want to click faster if the pic is nice and then I might remember it more if I see an interesting thumbnail. 😉👍

I'm so happy to hear that my minor adjustment has changed things for you and others in a big way. If it weren't for you, I would have never known it was an issue.

😁😉 I like things can be said online and especially on hive without having to worry about being just irritating.. :P

Wow this is really nice and helpful, thanks for sharing.

Happy to hear this is helpful.

Thanks, thinking about using different emotions really helps... thanks for talking about them. These are really useful tips.
Very Intersting when I see DEVI(Lord) DURGA in your thumbnail.

Had to mention your tutorials, they can be very helpful for someone trying to learn how to manipulate photos and create.

Devi Durga - “she protects her devotees in all directions”.

Of course I would like to take and help elevate my content to the next level but for that I must understand that Thumbnails are how I end up in the creation so I would appreciate it

Download one of the apps I mentioned and start seeing what you can create yourself. You might really enjoy doing it like I do.

I will do that friend and thanks for sharing the information with us and helping us to improve our rewards


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @daltono ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @daltono! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day
The 7th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!