Is EVERYTHING really good in moderation?

in LeoFinancelast year

Everything In Moderation.jpg

Daltono Seperator.png

I know you've heard this one before 🗣️

The statement "Everything is good in moderation" is a general principle that suggests that it is generally beneficial to consume or engage in activities in moderation rather than in excess. It suggests that moderation can help to promote balance and prevent negative consequences that can result from overindulging or engaging in certain activities excessively. However, it is important to note that this principle is not absolute and there may be some things that are not beneficial or healthy in any amount.

For example, certain substances, such as tobacco and excessive amounts of alcohol, can have harmful effects on the body even when consumed in moderation. It is also important to consider that different individuals may have different needs and tolerances, and what may be moderate for one person may not be moderate for another.

robot-7387740_1920.jpg

There are a few different ways you can determine whether you are doing too much of something:


  1. Consider the potential negative consequences: If you are engaging in an activity or consuming a substance and you are experiencing negative consequences as a result, such as health problems, relationship issues, or difficulty with work or other responsibilities, it may be a sign that you are doing too much of that activity or substance.

  2. Pay attention to your feelings and physical sensations: If you feel overwhelmed, anxious, or physically uncomfortable as a result of an activity or substance, it may be a sign that you are doing too much.

  3. Consider your goals: If you are engaging in an activity or consuming a substance with the goal of improving your health, well-being, or overall quality of life, and it is not helping you achieve these goals, it may be a sign that you are doing too much.


Overall, it is important to find a balance that works for you and to be mindful of the potential negative consequences of overindulging or engaging in certain activities excessively.

overdoingit.jpg

Here are a few strategies you can try to moderate how much you do your favorite things:


  1. Set limits: One way to moderate your behavior is to set limits on how much time you spend on your favorite activities. For example, you might decide to limit your screen time to a certain number of hours per day or week, or you might limit the number of times you engage in a particular activity each day or week.

  2. Practice mindfulness: Paying attention to your thoughts and feelings can help you become more aware of when you are engaging in your favorite activities out of habit or to avoid dealing with negative emotions. This can help you make more conscious choices about when and how often to engage in these activities.

  3. Find alternative activities: Identifying alternative activities that you enjoy can help you diversify your interests and reduce the amount of time you spend on your favorite activities. This can help prevent boredom and reduce the risk of overindulging.

  4. Seek support: Sharing your goals with friends, family, or a therapist can provide you with accountability and support to help you moderate your behavior.


Remember, it is important to find a balance that works for you and don't let yourself get lost in comparison with others. We are all different and no exact amount of anything can be said to be enough for every individual.

harvesting-1822578_1920.jpg

Here are a few signs that you may be addicted to something:


  1. You have a strong craving or desire to use the substance or engage in the activity.

  2. You are unable to control how much or how often you use the substance or engage in the activity.

  3. You continue to use the substance or engage in the activity despite experiencing negative consequences as a result, such as health problems, relationship issues, or difficulty with work or other responsibilities.

  4. You experience withdrawal symptoms when you stop using the substance or engaging in the activity.

  5. You prioritize the substance or activity over other important aspects of your life.


  6. If you are concerned that you may be addicted to something, it is important to take action or seek guidance if you do not know what to do. Continuing a habit that you know is unhealthy is not a choice you want to make.

    mathew-macquarrie-lzcKZlVPYaU-unsplash.jpg

    The answer is NO ❌🙅‍♂️

    Of course, not EVERYTHING is good in moderation. There are some things that you really just should not do. I think we can agree that murder is horrible, even in moderation. There are numerous other heinous crimes I could list, but I think you can determine which ones are okay in moderation yourself. My best advice is don't binge, and don't abstain, but do take it easy on the bad stuff.

    kyle-cleveland-gLmeY_bJr0I-unsplash.jpg

    If you have any added advice for someone who struggles to moderate their behaviors, feel free to drop it down in the comments so others can read your input.




    Thanks.png

    Profile Footer.png

    My NFTs: https://inji.com/@daltono/nfts

    Daltono Ocean God.jpg

    Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️My YouTube Channel 🎥Create a free Hive account 🗽Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦
    click hereclick hereclick hereclick here

    Daltono Seperator copy.png

    Discord: Daltono#5080

Sort:  

An excellent post, and thank you for also identifying some of the signs of addiction! 😊

As a physician, I do find myself talking with a good deal of patients who suffer from addictions to harmful substances. In such instances, the "just say NO" approach is typically useless, as they are often aware of the harm that their usage can cause but have difficulty stopping due to a combination of internal and external factors. Strategies for them to drop the substance abuse do sometimes include suggestions to moderate the usage (I often ask them to slowly reduce their usage and see if they can adapt), and to see if they can reduce the stressors that incite usage.

That said, I do practice what is preached here. Depending on the level of potential harm, everything in moderation... except that which is nearly guaranteed to cause me harm!

Thank you so much! I've known many who have struggled with major addictions and I know it takes some serious determination to overcome. SAY NO is a harsh way to start. Sure that is a great end goal, but along that path may require like you said some reductions.

That said, I do practice what is preached here. Depending on the level of potential harm, everything in moderation... except that which is nearly guaranteed to cause me harm!

That sure seems like a great way to live to me!

Collecting hive in moderation is not as good as collecting hive with no limits. Also one can't have too many dogs or sweets.

You got me there. HIVE, dogs, sweets, all things that I love.

I will emphasize on the mindfulness part. Often times, the reason why we overdo something is because there's no conscious mechanism in place to stop the excess behavior. From personal experience, mindfulness really helps because it grants you the ability to be aware/conscious of your behavior(s) instead of them running in the background and potentially going to the extreme.

I spent 20 years failing to be mindful and present. Luckily I had an awakening and for the last 10 years I have been conscious of everything that I do. I feel like an upgraded human being now, but really we all are capable of this.

That's really great, been conscious for ten years now. It's really not difficult to practice when you get the hang of it and yes, everyone is capable of achieving it.

It's quite interesting what I've read here, it's very useful everything you've broken down about moderation. Throughout my life I have suffered one addiction or another, when I was young I had a problem with cigarettes, I liked it, but it was damaging my health in a hurry, quitting was not easy, but I managed it, today I am a person free of tobacco smoke. I think the issue of moderation can also be associated a bit to willpower, it is a part that tends to be quite weak in us, but once it has been mastered, we can fight against any kind of addiction that is damaging our lifestyle.

Thanks for sharing, your article was very interesting.

I'm lucky I have never tried a cigarette still, I imagine it is very difficult to quit. I used to smoke a lot of weed, but I don't smoke any at all now. I also was a heavy drinker in my college years, but luckily I moved on from that as well.

My willpower has slowly increased as the years go by. I feel like I'm in control now, but I have a feeling that 10 years from now I will have progressed even more.

That's good to know, your overcoming has been quite optimal, surely in the future you will have full control over those things. That case you are talking about, that you smoked weed, is a bit of a strong subject, here in my country it is not legal and I have friends addicted to it and if I am honest I see them worse and worse, they look worse and worse. You were able to get out of it like a champion, so I congratulate you, I was able to leave behind the cigarette so I am also another champion like you hahaha.

Of course, not everything has to be in moderation, but some things are more beautiful in moderation. For example, eating. Some people can't contain themselves and they eat all the time. But in moderation at least they know how much they eat lol.

Overeating is such a common issue. Many people just don't care to understand their own personal limits when it comes to food.

This is a very useful post, and the various strategies are also very easy to practice.

One addition from me is that one's conscience, mind, or body will give a signal that something is beneficial, whether it is the activity carried out or what is consumed. Make a signal from our conscience, mind, or body as an early warning for us to anticipate before things get worse.

May we all live in goodness.

Simple solutions can resolve complex problems.

Some people have gotten really good at ignoring their intuition or their body's natural reaction to things. If we stay in tune, we are almost always alerted before things get to an uncontrollable level.

I will explain moderation in this way That if we have any bad habit, then we should eliminate it by thinking about it. As in Pakistan, people swearing while talking is considered bad, so all of them should stop this habit. A person should not make himself addicted to anything, if it becomes a habit, it destroys him from within. Let me share with you a story of my friend. He treated people very badly and oppressed his employees. After some time he realized this himself, he thought about it and he gave up his habit.

I have a habit of swearing when I'm casual conversation, but I can easily keep myself from doing that when the circumstance asks for cleaner communication. It's a personal choice whether or not we limit ourselves, some find it easier than others.

yup, I tell my kids, (especially the boy who is full of silly questions and mindlessly repeats things he 'learned' online)

oh yea?? how about u stick your hand in just a little bit (keep it in moderation) of lava..

:P

Being in Hawaii, that is an excellent thing to say to him.

untitled.gif

😁🤣

Exceptions to the rule need to include 1) Cute dogs 2) Cute Cats 3) Gratitude
untitled.gif

Seriously though, thanks for sharing this, @daltono It's never an easy task to see this issue - in others or in yourself - and to see such a common sense approach is both positive and refreshing. Starting to moderate is a good first step, followed very quickly by remembering that it's going to be two steps forward, two (or maybe more) steps back for a while.

Wishing you a Happy New Year.

Annabelle 🤕

Dogs and cats are great in unlimited supply unless you're allergic to them like me 😩 I still love them though.

Gratitude is always welcomed.

I'm glad you enjoyed this. Happy New Year to you all too!

Thanks, @daltono!

I've been such a Grinch this Christmas - totally had the stuffing knocked out of me this time, so it's been really lovely to have a floofy friend come up for cuddles.

This is my current view!

IMG_6514.jpeg

Hope you are having a good start of the year - sorry to hear you are allergic though...totally sucks!

Annabelle 🤧

I can always appreciate the cuteness of a cat 😻

I think it depends on the side. Moderation in some things are not that okay also. Well at the end, it should be balanced

That's right, we have to be patient and wait for our opportunity without despairing and wanting to achieve the objectives immediately.

That is a great maxim to live by.

Discipline can also be a factor when it comes to moderation.

Discipline is a must for any type of moderation.

well that is very true nothing in excess is good everything must be taken calmly

Indeed moderation is needed in all things.

untitled.gif

yes that's right. everything that is excessive is not good.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @daltono ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.