You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CONVERSION ROLLBACK!

in LeoFinancelast year

I was not aware of the min(price_median) .... that's new to me :)

From the test I have made like a year ago, when this was a new thing, I usually would wait out for the conversions to end and check the final results .... and in the final result the final_price is used that is the median of the median in the 3.5 days :)
Turns out this min(price_median) is just a temporary price to ensure more collateral is put in.

How is min(price_median) calculated? Is it just a single witness at the bottom of the list deciding this number? Is that too much power for a single witness to hold?

Its not up to one witness, since it is still a median price for one hour, collected from the feed from the top witnesses. But then it looks at the median hourly prices from the last 3.5 days (84 data points) and choses the lowest.

The way I was going about HIVE to HBD conversions is doing them only if HBD is above $1.1.

Kudos to you for learning it live and digging in deep :)

Sort:  

Its not up to one witness, since it is still a median price for one hour, collected from the feed from the top witnesses. But then it looks at the median hourly prices from the last 3.5 days (84 data points) and choses the lowest.

Yeah... I still don't get it.

What is a "top witness"?

Oh wait maybe I get it...
Yeah there are 84 data points (all medians) and it just takes the lowest one.
Simple enough but there are a lot of ways to misinterpret how it was being explained.

Thanks for the help!

I just imagine it like that for easier understanding, dunno how it is actually implemented in the code, and the actual code

Yeah I've been told the hourly thing before by many other people and it just wasn't clicking.
I think I have a better grasp of what's happening here.

I still think it's a little weird that we would consolidate them into hourly aggregates when we could technically create a new data point every 3 seconds. Guessing it has something to do with database efficiency and whatnot.

Yes it reduces the size faster ... when you keep converting HIVE to HBD and selling the HBD for HIVE