Locked in a business

in LeoFinance26 days ago


source

Could it be stigmatization or the fear to unlearn? Several factors can keep an individual in an unfavorable Circle. No business is too bad to venture into, I've read and seen people who moved from a low stage to an advanced one. For instance, someone who used to sell fairly used clothes later owning a standard boutique, a roadside cooker turning into a standard chef, one who used to do retail energy business now a full timer in oil and gas.

These are ALL motivating, yet to some or should I say many, the reverse has always been the case. I aspire to be an entrepreneur at the TOP class yet I try to be very careful how I select businesses I venture into. Some do business for only the money while others do it for the love of it. The third people I see that do business is because it seems they are choiceless, they are mostly locked in. If you ask me why I do business then I'll say 'to solve problems' (both internally and externally). Who wouldn't want to maximize profit? Of course I do, and coupled to that I love business so I solve customers problems who in turn solves mine; good business right?

One of the worst traps to put yourself is being trapped in a business that doesn't even yield much. I've seen someone stay in a particular business for over fifteen years with nothing to write home about. As I said, they can't even change that skill and one of the reasons being stigmatization. You know a lot bother about what people will say when it is discovered that they finally pull out of a business, skill or trade. I had such experience once yet the ability to understand that failure is not jus t loosing but rather loosing and staying in loss.

source
I could remember I did put a lot into the business and told a lot of friends and clients about the business. All of a sudden, all went loose, the business was bleeding severely. I made the daily calculations and realized I was heading down a dark and hopeless tunnel yet I couldn't stop. 'They'll ask me' is what was always playing in my head and I felt a look of incompetence when I should tell them I went bankrupt. This is what makes many people do what they don't like till the day they finally pass out. What a pity, leaving an unfulfilled life.

Fear to unlearn

This is another big factor, some feel the stigmatization to start over after many years and also the fear to unlearn. How do I try new things and let go of all the knowledge I have acquired for several years? A lot of us are too rigid and also allow pride to occupy a huge portion of our decision making. When you know the importance of knowledge and how vital it is to your future, you won't think twice. I'm an entrepreneur trying to connect many strings to bring out a group of companies and believed me, I am not ashame to learn a new trick or get an idea from a staff member. Knowledge is Power, this is no joke.

We pray for a better future but even in the process, we shouldn't fail in our analysis. Sometimes even before a projects or business fails we often get that early Red flag to abandon ship yet pretend as if all it just fine. That's how bad turns to worse. When you let the word, 'how can I' (pride) soak you, you'll gradually suffocate in an unproductive skill or trade.

Lack of innovation


source
Many of us are just too outdated. For over five to ten or even fifteen years, you are still delivering your products or services the exact way you used to. There were days ice creams were accepted in a nylon bag, it advanced to sachet and many new methods. How do you beat competitors when you are old already? 'Business is not good' is what mostly say yet the reverse statement 'we are not good for business' is to be used.

Stay updated if you wish to thrive. man (customers alike) are subject to change and when they don't sense it in your pattern of business, skill or trade, they'll move on. You are already trap because you can't change your skill, so why not blend through renovation and innovation.

It's not easy to abandon an old skill I must say, that's why I aim to be more of an incorporative entrepreneur with a necessary touch of innovation. We can change some situations only if we accept what's factual. Sit down to analyze your possible ways to go through a current skill or trade. Selling disk in a world where mobile phones are everywhere is one of the examples I can put to the table. Are people not still watching videos? They are, in short even more than they did ten years ago. So how can you present them with videos? Think! Think!! Think!!!

To conclude, let me add, it is no easy task to let go of old ways. There are indeed emotions attached to it. Just like Moving out of an old apartment or business premises, it always seems a part of your life is missing. Mature you mind when facing reality, there is time for everything, time to accept failure and move on and even unlearn to meet up with trends. The worst decision would be to settle for less in the thought of what others would say, you are trapped and I dare you to untrap yourself.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @daniasi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024