You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wen Sell

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Good ideas, but I think it is easy to underestimate the work involved in rental property (finding renters, collecting rent during bad times, and maintaining the properties).

I have a few friends that did this, some successfully, others not so successfully. The ones who liked it did a lot of the upkeep work and property improvements themselves (one started out as a roofer, the other was an HVAC guy).

OTOH, it can be a headache if you are a working professional. One of my friends who did this was a doctor, who kept his old house when he moved to a new one. I think he was inspired to do it by our mutual friend (the roofer). But he began to hate it after a while, because of all the extra offhours work associated with it. And then his renter developed terminal cancer and could no longer make payments, but he didn't have the heart to evict him...

Sort:  

You can pretty much find an agency for all that and i would recommend it. It is a pain in the ass otherwise. Ive had horrible experiences since i lived 300km from my property i was renting in another city. From torn out appliances, flooding etc.

Agencies are godgiven for this.

Yes, all good points. All true. It depends on the market too. I live in Houston, TX which is a flat steady market where this works easily. I work full time and I have a property manager. Yes, I have to evict one person. But it's my property mangers job not mine. It's critical to find a good one.

Hi - I was wondering if your funds became unfrozen after they were initially frozen. It looks like they were released based on the delegation of almost all of your funds, but just curious after all this time.

No, my Steem was never unfrozen. Locked up on Bittrex and subject of ongoing legal dispute.