Join HSBI and Be Happy!

in LeoFinance19 days ago

Many old-timers on Hive know about HSBI (Hive Stake-Based Income), so this post is more for new people who have only joined in the last year or two.

HSBI is a great program on this network. Basically it is an experiment in providing a basic income to everyone on Hive—well, everyone who joins the program anyway. There is something of a kindness incentive to the program. I hesitate to use the word Universal Basic Income, because I know that is a trigger word for many people, but there is something of that in here, in that it encourages members to support each other and be concerned for the well-being of the group. I like that kindness angle to the program.

The basic idea is you sponsor someone for membership by buying them x shares of HSBI. As a “reward” for sponsoring someone, you also receive the same number of shares you sponsor them for. You will then get an upvote on your posts relative to how many shares of HSBI you own. At the moment it is a somewhat small upvote per share, but that will go up as the price of HIVE increases.

@josephsavage has been running it since back in the Steemit days and continues to do a wonderful job. You can find him around Hive and also on the HSBI Discord server. Here is a link to the Discord server.

Another two links you may be interested in are the HSBI FAQ and the HSBI website, where you can check various things like how many shares of HSBI you have, who you’ve sponsored and who’s sponsored you, and the rich list.


So how do you sponsor someone and join the program. Simply send a HIVE transaction to @steembasicincome for the amount of HSBI that you want to sponsor someone for, then the name you want to sponsor in the memo.

If that confuses you a little, you’re in luck: it’s even easier on Peakd. Simply go to your wallet and then the “Others” section. In here, hit the “Sponsor” button. In the popup, put the people you want to sponsor in the “receiver” section and the number of shares you want to give them in the “units” section.

If you want to sponsor multiple people, simply separate their names by a space. Just be sure that the number of units to sponsor is divisible by the number of people you sponsor. For example:

That’s all there is to it!

I have noticed an uptick in people sponsoring each other for HSBI lately, and that is pretty great to see. I hope it continues! This is one program that we all benefit from and I hope to see it continue and remain healthy.

Hi there! David LaSpina is an American photographer and translator lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time and searching for the perfect haiku. He blogs here and at laspina.org. Write him on Twitter or Mastodon.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

HSBI is awesome. I wish I could give out more to others. If new users are putting in the time and they have some hsbi i think they have ahigher chance of sticking around.

Totally agree! It is a very motivating program. You give me an idea. Maybe some of us should start sponsoring new users for a few units here and there. If the new user later leaves, well the money is still in the HSBI system so it helps out all of us, but maybe, just maybe, the small votes will help encourage the new user to stay.

I like it. Its just hard to know who to sponsor and what not. If its people you onboard then its easy.

It does add up rather nicely over time! How many do you currently have yourself?

Yep, it sure does. I have a bit over 5000 units at this point.

HSBI got me through a lot of tough times during the bears when my account was smaller.

It still helps motivate me!

HSBI is a fantastic program!

I think it's great for many people to see that upvote, small or large, and give them a little encouragement.

!BBH
!PIMP

Absolutely! Thinking about that, when I see intro posts from new users, I'm going to start giving a few HSBI and posting a few words about the program. If they later leave Hive, well, the money stays in the HSBI system so it benefits all of us, but maybe having that small vote will be enough encouragement to help them stick around.

I like that idea!

!LUV
!BBH

dbooster, bulliontools sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

@dbooster! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (7/20)

@dbooster! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (1/20)

!pimp


You must be killin' it out here!
@silverd510 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @dbooster.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Thanks for the !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@dbooster just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @silverd510.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

so far I believe HSBI is the best Giveaway prize, because the winner must be active on hive to get the benefit from it

untitled.gif

One of the benefits absolutely: it encourages people to stay active on Hive, or at least check back every now and again.

It really is a very cool program!

When I first got started back on the old chain, I was gifted some shares, and I won a number of them through various contests, as well.

In time, it has come to add up nicely, and has felt like an encouraging boost during some of our really low times.

Highly recommend to everyone, newbies and old timers, alike!

=^..^=

Totally! It is an amazing program.

I love giving out HSBI! I know you do too! I used to do a daily giveaway of five HSBI, but now I just do a weekly for ten. It's a great program!

Hopefully your post will inspire more people to get involved!

It looks very interesting, a great initiate to help, motivate and support the new users specifically. #freecompliments is helping the community have HSBI daily. Nice and easy explanation.

@freecompliments has been doing an absolutely amazing job since he arrived on Hive. We should all be copying his actions and sponsoring new users for their encouragement.

I agree with HSBI's approach. I like the system of interacting and helping other users. It also gives me peace of mind that there is no zero reward for posting.

I did not know that PeakD allows you to send to more than one person at a time! Thanks for the info.

You're welcome. I completely agree with you!

I couldn't agree with you more.. HSBI is a solid program and even though I forgot about it for quite some time due to abandoning my old account.. when I realised I could get them transferred, I was very happy to find out these funds weren't lost.

@josephsavage is a great example on how you should run a project long-term here on Hive I'd say. Customer support is great too :)

!PIMP it with !PIZZA and a sprinkle of !LUV


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @dbooster.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

dbooster, thisismylife sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

good initiative and really cool to see old members helping younger ones
!PIZZA !LOLZ

I asked my Mom why ADHD runs in our family.
She said because it won't sit still.

Credit: minopoly
@dbooster, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of pirulito.zoado

(7/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
pirulito.zoado tipped dbooster
@thisismylife(1/5) tipped @dbooster