You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LeoThread 2023-02-16 22:40

in LeoFinancelast year (edited)

It's one of those things you do develop a feel for. I've been reading haiku for so long that I can kind of just feel if it's a haiku, even if it doesn't hit the exact right count (such as with Santōka). It's kind of like in English when someone says something in a way that's a bit off and we get the feeling it might be a poem, or maybe a bit of Shakespeare verse, or maybe a song lyric. It just feels different than normal speech even if we can't articulate why. It's not necessarily a logical thing. But you can feel a difference. Haiku are the same.

Sort:  

Interesting.

I’m impressed that you kept reading after becoming a father. I think for me, that was the first thing to go, reading time.