You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That Idea of 'Removing' the Hive Rewards Pool

in LeoFinance7 months ago

IIRC, doing away with the reward pool has come up before. It's a bad idea and would destroy Hive. Even after 2 (3? I forget) years we still haven't recovered from the fork from Steemit. Unless I am totally wrong, our numbers are lower than they were and engagement is down. If we stopped rewarding people, people would leave, end of story. People who already have a sizable investment like most of the 5+ year people, they would stay altho their involvement might go down (I certainly wouldn't post daily anymore, which I've done for the past 7 years), but smaller users would just leave. We want to attract people, not repel them.

Well anyway, thank you for the write up. It was in the middle of the night for me, so there was no way I could attend.

Sort:  

Last I heard there was ~80,000 active accounts, say 2 months ago. Don't quote me on it though, I don't know how to get hold of any hard data from the blockchain like that.

There's about 10,000 monthly active commenters and about 120,000+ monthly active accounts overall (mostly accounts which only use dapps like Splinterlands). I ran a query on @hivesql to check.

You're awesome. Interesting data. Is the trend up, down or maybe more a plateau? Would be great to learn how to hivesql

My query only checked the last few months, but based on @arcange's stats we are at a low point at the moment.

image.png

Such is life for the Hive!

Yes, it was mentioned by Denmarkguy that this isn't the first time the idea has came up. It intrigues me why. Although I also think it is bad for the blockchain and most of us if not all will be very unhappy.

Let's hope this idea gets dropped.