KIN Migration To Solana Complete - And Why It Matters

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

If you follow me here you know I've been writing quite a lot about KIN recently. More specifically, I've been writing about their migration to Solana.

A small recap of what KIN is and how it evolved is required, though.

KIN started as an ERC20 token on Ethereum, an iteration known as KIN 1. Then they started a migration on Stellar, which went in two stages, known as KIN 2 and KIN 3 (the difference being that KIN 3 was the main asset on the migration - both phases running non-mainnet, though).

And now, we're seeing the 4th migration, to Solana, which will make this new asset known as KIN 4.

At the moment of writing, all accounts have been successfully migrated, so if you did hold some KIN tokens on any of the previously mentioned versions you should be able to see them on Solana. Mind you, in Solana you have an account address, and then "under" this address you can hold multiple token address. Your KIN 4 tokens will be found at this new token address, which is, again, "under" the main Solana account.

It sounds way more complicated than it is. If you just want to see it working, you should go here:

https://kin.org/token-migration/

and scroll down to the tool they made for verification. It's just a form field where you can input your KIN address on Stellar (starting with GW***) and they will show you the new Solana address for that account.

The market reacted incredibly well to this migration (I'm a bit surprised myself), with an appreciation of almost 50%.

Some of you may remember KIN as being in a long struggle with SEC and that is 100% true. This struggle ended with a deal, though, in which KIN is recognized as a currency (not a security). Just like Bitcoin and Ethereum.

I would definitely keep an eye on this project, if only for the fact that they survived so many hurdles so far, and although battled and bruised, they're still kicking.

Later edit: according to this Medium post, the migration includes 99% of the circulating supply now, so basically all the previously created accounts have been migrated, which means this post is theoretically still accurate.

DISCLAIMER: this is not investment advice. Holding any crypto currency carries a major risk, so do your own research. As part of the KIN Developer program, I received a small amount of KIN tokens.


There is an ongoing funding proposal for two of my Hive-related projects, which will allow me to support some of the costs involved. If you want to support this proposal, all you have to do is to vote it using any of the two links below:

Sign this proposal with Hivesigner
Peakd: https://peakd.com/me/proposals/92

Already supported by: @toofasteddie, @amico, @bluerobo, @chrisaiki, @erikah, @ervin-lemark, @ew-and-patterns, @guruvaj, @mytechtrail, @pharesim, @ryivhnn, @sacrosanct, @captainklaus, @santigs, @inertia, @bro.poker, @distantsignal, @doze, @gadrian-sp, @shmoogleosukami, @valued-customer, @condeas, @justinashby, @likwid, @bucipuci


I'm a geek, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Hive you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created hive.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your HIVE rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta