My honest thoughts about dCITY as the former President

in LeoFinance3 years ago

image.png

1. Taxes

Taxes in dCITY are used to reduce SIM inflation that would help it maintain peg, and offer "boosts" for cities as return. There are many different kinds of taxes and have different purposes, but I will be mainly focusing on Income and Basic tax.
Income and Basic tax are purely focused on maintaining SIM peg by reducing the amount of SIM distributed every payout. In the recent 30 days on SIM market 20% basic tax with other taxes has been applied on three different occasions.
image.png
All the arrows are pointing to individual days when max tax was applied and the green arrows resemble green candles and the red arrow resembles a red candle on the chart. Altough max taxes helped SIM to rise in price before it is not working this time as it has just stabilized the SIM price for the day. I am not saying that max tax is the right option for now but the chart speaks for itself and obviously shows signs that its slowing the bleed of SIM. The Income tax has been put into place by gerber and is purely controlled by the price of SIM and will most likely stay that way until a better system is made if there even is one.

image.png

2. Players leaving

In my eyes many player have been spoiled by the huge APR% that dCITY has offered for the last year and cannot face the fact that the game is not sustainable that way. People can not expect to make 10hive every day for only investing 500 hive into the game. 3rd Edition will feature new mechanics to help hive maintain peg aswell like disasters and new techs. Even with SIM being worth 0.001 and hive being worth over $0.2 the game is a great investment opportunity. So all the drama for getting high taxes for some period is not the end of the world and is only to bandage the bleed of SIM while we are waiting for 3rd edition. This is the perfect moment for you to grab some cheap SIM for 3rd edition or for Holding Rewards and power in elections.

image.png

3rd Edition

The third edition of cards are definitely around the corner and @gerber has said that the cards themselves
are ready but are waiting behind the front-end that is getting a revamp. When 3rd edition goes live we can expect the SIM price to jump back to peg very shortly because many people are not collecting SIM at the moment and may miss out on the opportunity to buy cheap SIM. Note that with the 3rd edition going live, the 1st edition cards will be removed from being printed and might rise in price.

image.png

4. Players are not reading the Info page

Every day we are seeing players confused by things that are perfectly explained in the Government section or on the Info Page, Ive seen the presidents being blamed for income tax way too many times and that could be easily prevented if people read the information before going and blaming someone for something they are not responsible for. People should dedicate more time into reading about the game mechanics before entering to save everyone's time including gerbers. Gerber has said that he plans on reworking the info page to be more detailed and easier to read. At least the recent election have brought many users to vote and learn more about taxes.

I am interested in your opinions so please comment them under this post and I hope we can have a nice discussion :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I was surprised to see the 101% tax, My thought were 'aww man, this is going to delay my sim accumulation', I'm basically playing for free at this point after a 300 hive 'investment'. I could sell 1 tech card and break even right now and I'm sorted.

The high taxes will cull the weak from the game and those who actually enjoy it as a GAME will stay.


My witness node - Stream on Vimm.tv

Ok... I am going to give you my vote now! I have tested my strategy... time to buff on dcity like a maniac again...

Cheers!

The hope that we all have in #dcity
is fading quite fast.
The engagement of each player
dictates how we received
this tax burden.
It is a game with some serious
arrangement to earn Hive and Sim.
I am here, I will wait for things to change.

!BEER

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Change towards what?

LOL I think this is an example of someone who just wants to make money, and doesn't appreciate or understand the mechanics. Basically, the villain of your post. :)

I'm with you though. A bit extreme at the moment (101%+) but I don't sweat the ups and downs. I just had a long discussion with @gerber about it, and he clarified things for me. I was bugging him about deflation... he's very patient. lol

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Im just playing the way oit goes, not thinking in close returns. I want to grow my city for fun and get rewarded in a couple of years

Thats a good game plan

I play dCity as a game and nostalgia, As it will be nice to see how it changes with time.

.

Why does a war tax exist? I get it benefits those who have the MIC, but seems more like a tax on the poor. New to the game so just trying to figure things out.

Thanks!

"seems more like a tax on the poor" buy MIC-s then if you dont like being hit by it, simple.

Thanks for that thoughtful explanation.

I was going to suggest having some kind of Village People System tax break, Until the smaller players got big enough for City Status, But...

image.png

The insane 100%+ tax was ye insane and I didn't get why it would be that high. Until I learned that the income tax is attratched to the price of sim, then you taxes you put up wasn't bad at all :D

So sorry for my lack of knownledge!

@dreamm, thank you for supporting the HiveBuzz project by voting for our witness.

Here Is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Tour Update - Financial stages