Unusual HIVE Activity!?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

As the crypto market surged upward in recent days, HIVE floundered, then entered an extremely volatile and artificial-looking trading pattern for the past 24 hours:

Unless there's a problem with the software, those instant 2 cent (13%) swings are actually happening. If they are, somebody could very well be making massive profits off those of us holding the currency.

The past week has been more typical for HIVE:

I won't speculate further on the origins of this unusual activity.

But I think it's important to document it and allow commentary and discussion.

HIVE appears to have fallen to an unfortunate position:

Let's hope things turn around soon.

But I must admit, I've employed that strategy for the past 3 years straight, and it's getting tired.

DRutter

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

deposit and withdraw of hive on binance and bittrex is in "maintenance"

therefore manipulation is going on on a larger scale

see the difference of prices on different exchanges

Hive price looking very suspect there. I wonder if it is manipulation? I am also bearish on Hive ever since I saw what Steem did - it only ever fell in price. I don't expect Hive to climb at all, based on the design of the token. It's not a good look I'm afraid.

That's how I've been feeling about it, too. How sad for so many good people.
Imagine working for 3+ years nonstop, every day putting in time and effort, and being told to keep holding on, keep powering up, because eventually it will all be worth it? And then to realize the token is pretty much designed to deflate its value away, and even in bull markets it loses ground against the rest of the market?

As for the current price action, hopefully we'll hear soon that it was some sort of mistake, and nothing weird actually happened. I think it's important to document and discuss these things, though. Thanks for your comment.

4th year's a charm, just ask the Halvening.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

20k BTC by Christmas!
(HIVE to #180 by market cap.)

Unless DeFi pops and most of those projects go bust, then HIVE will be #80 overnight.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Don't get me wrong, I think Hive should be in the top 10 (like Steem used to be), but I've felt that way for a long time and my feelings clearly have nothing to do with the outcome. I hope you're right about a bunch of crappy projects going bust, and even better, I hope Hive can do what it takes to retain content-creators that people want to follow. You and I and a few hundred other bloggers and vloggers is a good start, but until content-creators start getting properly paid, or the currency stops losing 90% every year, I only see us heading toward #200 by market cap.

I'm still working on hive, I see no reason to leave now, I've been doing this since mid 2017. I'm just holding the tokens that I have. Almost all of it is powered up. I guess if the ship goes down, my stake will go down with it...

Well it has been losing nonstop for years... it can never hit zero. It can lose 90% every year, from now until year 3000 and beyond. That's the beauty of crypto, it can be divided into millions of decimal points. So at what point would you decide "the ship went down"?

I have been in this panel for a short time, I invested in the panel, I hope I do not have losses, today I see an increase in the price of the currency, I hope it continues like this.
Greetings