Sort:  

It reminds me of those disclaimers" people add to their social media accounts sometimes, like "no government or other entity may use my content for any reason without permission" blah blah blah. It's not much better than those viral messages that say "if you pass this on, Bill Gates will deposit $1000 into your bank account because he monitors every email sent in the world". Nonsense perpetuated by idiots, and the rest of us have to keep reading it over and over.

That's definitely part of it.

I'm like a multi-layered, multi-dimensional, onion to myself when it comes to understanding why I do what I do and say what I say.

The more I dig into my psyche on these matters, the more I come to find that my mind is like an echo-chamber of ego-stroking, with innumerable layers that are, more often than not, completely unaware as to the motives of the layer just below it. It's like, at times I'm really convinced that I'm a good person, at others a real big-shot, but mostly I'm just aware that I'm a mess of subtle lies, interconnected to even subtler lies, as if they are the atomic building-blocks of my consciousness.

I'm so disenchanted with myself that I don't know if I'm capable of being serious, with myself or anyone else, anymore. I'm a walking heap of sarcasm, cynicism and, well, since I'm being honest for once, narcissism.

I feel entitled even though I know I'm a piece of shit, deep down. It's quite a conundrum. Then, to prove my point even further, I look at this labyrinth of deceitful concepts that make up my self-image and it fills me with a sense of greatness (there's the ego, again). It brings the question to mind, "who else out there can be this mysterious and complicated, to this great degree that I am? Aren't I great?"

It's like an endless puzzle of smelling my own farts, and loving every second of it.

It's like an endless puzzle of smelling my own farts

#deep
#poetry

It's certainly deep, into something. I'm not sure that I want to know what, exactly, that "something" is. Not as the "self" that I'm identifying with at the moment - the "fart-smelling" self.