You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: regex

in LeoFinance24 days ago

$20 seems like a lot for a game that runs on a command line console but I've gotten more than my money's worth. At the same time it's an MMO so a flat fee to play and the ability to use their Mongo DB is pretty nice. I would not be coding right now if I hadn't picked up this game so I'm hoping to tap into that momentum.

Sort:  

I see the aspiration for games, but are you thinking you'd like to build it on Hive, or just use Hive like a currency. I've found some issues in looking for adequate smart contract ability from sidechains.

I think building it on Hive would work quite nicely because there needs to be a cost to do things.
But that cost also needs to be very low.
Resource credits would work quite nicely for that.
There are also other advantages like memo key encrypted chatrooms and the ability to leverage the security of the entire chain to make sure no one can cheat "not even the devs"

Maybe I'm not creative enough, but there always seems to be one key piece of functionality missing prior to building an application. I have something big I want to include the Hive community in on, but it's hard to imagine it working without certain features. One thing can be certain man, blockchain is so niche in academia (mainly on the depth of creativity) that most people here could be published authors. (I published essentially a whitepaper.) I think there could be a GIANT use that hasn't been implemented correctly, but I need that deterministic algorithm type stuff that I get from saving state in an Ethereum Virtual Machine based system. Free time/motivation is also a limiting factor for me.

If I find anything worth using, I'll share it with you.

Good luck to both of us.

More infrastructure certainly would be nice, but at the end of the day any project can just be centralized to a single node and database which greatly reduces complexity. Most EVM projects are so heinously centralized with the dev team able to mint any coin or change any contract that it doesn't even matter that they're building on a decentralized chain.

No, I completely agree with that logic. It all just takes a little changing of the code.