You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive has never been harder to stack

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Yes, wouldn't that be nice!

But on a technical level the blockchain (witnesses) don't know if someone upvoted a post because they were curated by a reblog or not, so this entire idea becomes impossible to enforce on-chain. An off-chain system would have to be implemented, and even then it would only work on the frontend's it was installed on, in addition to requiring permission from the author that received the money to then transfer that money to the curators.

Sort:  

Okay I see.... I think. I know nothing about how things actually work behind the scenes. I just sort of assume that anything can be programmed, but I doubt that is actually how it works. Lol

Let's say I operate a frontend: we'll just use Peakd.com as an example.

So I control Peakd.com

As the server operator of Peakd.com I know when someone clicks on a reblog, and I know if that same person upvotes the reblog, but literally no one else knows this happened (unless I tell them, but this API infrastructure doesn't exist).

When someone looks at the blockchain itself it's impossible to tell whether the upvote came from peakd.com or hive.blog or leofinance.io or anywhere else. All the blockchain knows is that someone upvoted a comment and used the correct private key to sign that transaction.

The easiest way to make this reblog curation idea a reality would be to boot up a new token on a new frontend that is programmed to follow these rules. We have to ask ourselves: is this functionality actually worth having a new token and a new frontend? Maybe; maybe not.

Interesring. Thats more complicated than I realized but I understand now. That makes sense. I guess that would be a discussion then.